AgEducation Home
AgEducation Bulletin Board
New Jersey FFA Association
Classroom / Lab Instruction
Career Planning / SAE
Professional Development
Calendar of Events
News and Information
Topics A-Z
NJ FFA State Association Calendar of Events
Day Time Event

2015-2016 Calendar of Events

dates/locations are subject to change

*If a deadline falls on the weekend or a state holiday, the deadline is extended to the next business day.

Member of the Month applications must be physically in the office by 2:00 pm on the day of the state meeting.

September 2015
Day Time Event
Tuesday, September 1

September Member of the Month Application Due (5.001)

Monday, September 14
4:00 pm

State Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, September 15

Participant List for Leadership Experience and Development (LEAD) Conference due 
Chapter Officer Leadership Training, Leadership and Opportunities Conference, and State Greenhand Conference (6.000b)

Friday, September 18

Registration for Fall Agricultural Education Teachers Conference due

Friday, September 18 - Sunday, September 20

Eastern Regional FFA Career Development Events 
Eastern States Exposition (Big E), W. Springfield, MA

Friday, September 25

Fall Agricultural Education Teachers Conference 
Rutgers EcoComplex - 1200 Florence-Columbus Rd. Bordentown, NJ 08505-4200

New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting (following Ag Ed Conference)

Monday, September 28
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Wednesday, September 30

Star State Award Applications Due 
(Greenhand - 14.016a and Chapter - 14.016b)

Wednesday, September 30

Program Affiliation Contracts Due

October 2015
Day Time Event
Thursday, October 1

October Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Thursday, October 1

Chapter Officer List due (1.004a)

Chapter officer names, addresses, email and telephone numbers

(Required to retain a chapter charter)

Monday, October 5
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Friday, October 9 - Saturday, October 10

Leadership Experience and Development Conference
Chapter Officer Leadership Training, Leadership and Opportunities Conference & State Greenhand Conference

Wyndham Garden Trenton, 1 West Lafayette Street, Trenton, NJ 08608

Tuesday, October 13
6:00 pm

State FFA Foundation Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Wednesday, October 14
6:00 pm

State Alumni Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Thursday, October 15

Participant List for Fall Career Development Events due (www.judgingcard.com)

Monday, October 19
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Wednesday, October 28 - Saturday, October 31

88th National FFA Convention and National FFA Career Development Events 
Louisville, KY

November 2015
Day Time Event
Sunday, November 1*

Membership Roster Due Using www.ffa.org

(Required to retain chapter charter)

 

Sunday, November 1*

November Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Sunday, November 1*

Participant List for 212° Conference due (9.003a)

Monday, November 2
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Tuesday, November 10
5:00 pm

New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting

Online Meeting

Monday, November 16
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, November 17 - Saturday, November 21

National Association of Agricultural Educators Convention 
New Orleans, LA

Tuesday, November 19
9:30 am - 1:30 pm

Fall Career Development Events, School of Environmental and Biological Sciences 
1. Land Judging
2. Milk Quality and Products
3. Turf Management
4. Fruits and Vegetables Identification

December 2015
Day Time Event
Tuesday, December 1

December Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Tuesday, December 1

Program of Activities due (1.004b)
(REQUIRED TO RETAIN CHAPTER CHARTERS)

Monday, December 7
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Wednesday, December 9
6:00 pm

State Alumni Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Saturday, December 12
8:30 am - 7:30 pm

212° Conference

Rutgers University

Monday, December 21
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

January 2016
Day Time Event
Friday, January 1*

January Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Tuesday, January 12
6:00 pm

State FFA Foundation Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Friday, January 15

Participant List for State Officer Candidate School due (9.004a)

Tuesday, January 19
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, January 19
5:00 pm

New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting 
Online Meeting

Friday, January 22
6:00 pm

State Officer Banquet Speech Workshop

Monday, January 25
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Saturday, January 30
9:00 am - 3:00 pm

State Officer Candidates' School 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

February 2016
Day Time Event
Monday, February 1
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Monday, February 1

February Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Monday, February 1

Participant List for Advocacy and Legislative Leadership Day Event due (2.001a)

Monday, February 1

Chapter Nominations for Honorary State Degree and Distinguished Service Award due to State Office 
(Honorary - 14.019 and Distinguished - 14.018)

Tuesday, February 9 - Thursday, February 11

New Jersey Agricultural Convention & Trade Show and Annual State Agricultural Convention 
Harrah's Waterfront, Atlantic City, NJ

Wednesday, February 10
1:30 pm

New Jersey Ag Ed Advisory Council Meeting (at State Ag Convention) 
Harrah's Waterfront, Atlantic City, NJ

Wednesday, February 10
6:00 pm

State Alumni Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Monday, February 15*

Pre-registration for NJ FFA Horticultural Exposition and Floral Design CDE due (13.003a)
(NO ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED WITHOUT PARTICIPANT LISTS)

Saturday February 20 - Saturday, February 27

National FFA Week 
Chapter promotion of FFA

Monday, February 22
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Thursday, February 25
9:00 am - 3:00 pm

Advocacy and Legislative Leadership Day Event

Thursday, February 25 - Sunday, February 28

State Officer Fuel-Up Conference State Convention Planning 
North Wildwood, NJ

March 2016
Day Time Event
Tuesday, March 1

March Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Tuesday, March 1

Participant List for Online Farm Business Management, Forestry & Meat Evaluation CDEs due (10.000a)

Tuesday, March 1

Landscape Design Plans due into the State Office (13.004)

Friday, March 4
9:00 am - 3:30 pm

New Jersey Youth Institute - The World Food Prize

Rutgers University

Monday, March 7
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Friday, March 11
10:00 am

Floral Design Career Development Event 
Mercer County Community College, 1200 Old Trenton Road, West Windsor, NJ 08550

Friday, March 11 - Saturday, March 12

NJ FFA Horticultural Expo 
Mercer County Community College, 1200 Old Trenton Road, West Windsor, NJ 08550

Tuesday, March 15

Nominating Committee Application Due (14.004)

Tuesday, March 15

State and American Degree Applications are due 

Tuesday, March 15

Proficiency Award Applications Due - available on www.ffa.org 

Tuesday, March 15

Participant List for Spring Career Development Events due (13.001a)

Tuesday, March 15
5:00 pm

New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting 
Online Meeting

Monday, March 21
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Webinar

Tuesday, March 22
4:00 pm

Proficiency, American & State Degree Selection Committee 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Wednesday, March 30

Farm Business Management, Forestry & Meat Evaluation CDEs 
Administered Online (MyCAERT.com)

April 2016
Day Time Event
Friday, April 1

Applications are due for the following awards presented at the convention: 
The following applications can also be found on the New Jersey FFA Website at
1. State FFA Scholarship Applications (14.008)
2. Advisor of the Year Application (14.009)
3. National Chapter Award Application Form I and Form II available on www.ffa.org 
4. Superior Chapter Application (National Chapter Award Form I)
5. Most Improved Chapter Application (15.014)
6. Member of the Year Application (5.001)
7. FFA Week Application (15.013)
8. Essay Event (14.024) Four typewritten copies of essay need to be submitted.
9. WLC Scholarship Application (14.022)
10. Blue Jackets Bright Futures Application (14.010)
11. Princeton Agricultural Association Leadership Award (14.025)
12. 8,000 Hour Challenge/Outstanding Service Project Award (14.026)
13. National Convention Scholarship Application Due (14.021)
14. State Talent Application (14.027)
15. Hall of States (14.030)
16. Chapter Challenge (14.028)

Friday, April 1

Honorary American Degree for Teachers due to the State Office 

Friday, April 1

Participant List for Livestock/Dairy Judging CDEs due (12.007b & 12.008b)

Friday, April 1

April Member of the Month Application Due (5.001)

Friday, April 1

Agriscience Fair Registration, Application, and Written Report due (16.001b)

(Please note - 3 copies of the written report are due with the application) Only National Agriscience Fair registrations, application and report will be accepted!

Monday, April 4
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Thursday, April 7
8:30 am - 4:00 pm

Applications judged by State Awards Selection Committee 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Friday, April 8

Delegates, Courtesy Corps and Members names pre-registered for State Convention/Career Development Events due for 87th State FFA Convention
Advisor Assurance Forms are due with Convention Participant List.
Participant List for the events listed below are due and included on the registration form.
1. 3-5 and 6-8 minute Public Speaking (15.003) (Speeches due April 8th) Ten typewritten copies of speeches (with cover page to include Title of Speech, Contestant, Chapter and State, and Name of Event) due at State FFA Office on this date for distribution to judges. Those who do not submit 10 copies of their speech on time will not be registered to compete.
2. Demonstration (Ten copies of outline due April 8th) (14.006)
3. Charles Drawbaugh Parliamentary Procedure Contest
4. Creed
5. Extemporaneous Speaking
6. Portable Exhibit (14.005)
7. Job Interview (14.017) (Job Interview materials due April 8th) Ten copies of resume, cover letter and 3 letters of reference are due at State FFA Office on this date for distribution to judges. Those who do not submit 10 copies of their materials on time will not be registered to compete.
8. Agricultural Issues Forum (10 copies of Portfolio due April 8th) Rules
9. Official Ceremonies (15.015)
10. FFA Quiz Bowl (15.016)
11. Artwork Competition (15.018)
12. Teach Agriculture Event (14.029) (10 copies of Lesson Plan due April 8th)
13. Marketing Plan CDE (12.022) (10 copies of written plan due April 8th)

Tuesday, April 12
6:00 pm

State FFA Foundation Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, first floor Board Room

Wednesday, April 13
5:00 pm

State Alumni Meeting and State Officer Retiring Address Workshop 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Monday, April 18
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Thursday, April 21
9:30 am - 1:30 pm

Spring Career Development Events
School of Environmental and Biological Sciences
1. Agricultural Technology and Mechanical Systems
2. Floriculture
3. Nursery/Landscape
4. Ag Sales
5. Environmental and Natural Resources
6. Veterinary Science

Friday, April 22 - Saturday, April 23

NAAE Region VI Conference (hosted by NJ Association of Agricultural Educators)

Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence-Columbus Road, Bordentown, NJ 08505

Wednesday, April 27
3:00 - 6:00 pm

Agriscience Fair
Rutgers EcoComplex

Saturday, April TBA
8:15 am - 3:00 pm

State FFA Livestock Career Development Event
Delaware Valley University, Doylestown, PA

April/May TBA

State FFA Food Science & Technology, Agronomy & Poultry Evaluation Career Development Events Eastern PA FFA Day
Lebanon, Pennsylvania

Saturday, April/May TBA

State FFA Dairy Evaluation Career Development Event 
Location TBA

May 2016
Day Time Event
Sunday, May 1*

May Member of the Month Application due (5.010)

Sunday, May 1*

State Officer Application due (15.001)

Monday, May 2
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Monday, May 16
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Sunday, May 22 - Tuesday, May 24

State Officer set-up and practice for state convention

Wednesday, May 25
1:00 pm

New Jersey Ag Ed Council Meeting

Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ

Wednesday, May 25
6:00 pm

New Jersey Association of Agricultural Educators Meeting

Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ

Wednesday, May 25 - Friday, May 27

87th State FFA Convention 

Monmouth University, West Long Branch, NJ

June 2016
Day Time Event
Wednesday, June 1

Participant List for Summer Career Development Events (12.003b)

Horse Evaluation, Dairy Hanlders & Safe Tractor Operators Event

Wednesday, June 1

National Convention State Room Block Request Needed and CDE Declaration Forms due 

Wednesday, June 1

June Member of the Month Application due (5.001)

Monday, June 6
4:00 pm

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Wednesday, June 8
6:00 pm

State Alumni Meeting

Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Saturday, June 11 - Sunday, June 12

State Officer Leadership Training Conference

Sponsored by the NJ FFA Alumni

Rutgers EcoComplex, 1200 Florence-Columbus Road, Bordentown, NJ 08505

Monday, June 20
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, June 28

New Jersey FFA Golf Tournament

Gambler Ridge Golf Club, Cream Ridge, NJ

Wednesday, June 29 - Friday, July 1

BLAST Off

Lamb House, Horse Park of New Jersey, Allentown, NJ

July 2016
Day Time Event
Monday, July 11
9:00 am

State FFA Association Monthly Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, July 12
6:00 pm

State FFA Foundation Meeting 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Board Room

Monday, July 18
4:00 pm

State FFA Executive Board Work Session 
Trenton - NJDA, 1st floor Auditorium

Tuesday, July 19
(tentative)

State Safe Tractor Operator's Event

Burlington County Farm Fair, Burlington County Fairgrounds

 

 

Wednesday, July 20
(tentative)

State Horse Evaluation Career Development Event

Burlington County Farm Fair, Burlington County Fairgrounds

 

 

Saturday, July 23
(tentative)

State Dairy Handler Event

Burlington County Farm Fair, Burlington County Fairgrounds

Monday, July 25 - Saturday, July 30

State Presidents' Conference

Washington, D.C.

Sunday, July 31 - Thursday, August 4

National Leadership Conference for State Officers

Virginia