It's The Law: Children Can Bring Asthma Medication to School

State law (Statute Amendment 18A:40-12.3) requires school districts to allow students to carry and administer their own asthma medication. The law further requires both public and non-public schools to provide and maintain at least one nebulizer for students with asthma.

The Centers for Disease Control (CDC) has published a series of videos featuring child actors demonstrating safe inhaler usage.


The state offers several programs for asthma sufferers who can not afford medication or treatment.


Residents of New Jersey who are U.S. citizens or qualified aliens and meet financial eligibility standards may receive coverage of many of their health care expenses through Medicaid.

Medicaid in New Jersey is administered by the Department of Human Services.

Residents who do not qualify for Medicaid may be eligible for free or low-cost health insurance coverage through NJ Familycare. Call 800-356-1561 for more information.

Learn More

Pharmaceutical Assistance to the Aged and Disabled

New Jersey provides state-funded prescription medication assistance to nearly 143,000 residents through the Pharmaceutical Assistance to the Aged and Disabled (PAAD) program.

To be eligible for PAAD, one must be:

  • A New Jersey resident
  • 65 years of age or older (or 18 years of age or older and receiving Social Security Title II Disability benefits)
  • Have an annual income for 2017 of less than $26,655 (single) or less than $32,680 (married)

Learn More

A Partnership for Prescription Assistance

The Partnership for Prescription Assistance connects qualified, low-income people with discount prescription drugs, direct from the pharmaceutical manufacturer.

Learn More

Last Reviewed: 3/22/2017