– For the first time, wineries throughout
the country can now apply for an Out-of-State
Plenary Winery License, providing the opportunity
to ship wine directly to New Jersey residents.
will be permitted, with certain restrictions,
to engage in direct shipment of wine to
New Jersey residents and licensed retail
establishments, and will also be able to
open tasting rooms in the Garden State.
The new license was created by legislation
signed by Governor Chris Christie in January.
creation of the license will also effectively
end the nine-year litigation and legislative
debate over direct shipping. The United
States District Court had granted a stay
in the case that had been at the center
of the direct shipping debate, pending the
enactment of legislation.
are pleased to finally put to an end the
nearly decade-long debate over direct shipment
of wine,” Attorney General Jeffrey
S. Chiesa said. “New Jersey residents
will now have another convenient way to
purchase the excellent wines offered by
our many fine Garden State wineries, as
well as wineries throughout the country.”
wineries will also now have the ability
to ship, according to Division of Alcoholic
Beverage Control Director Michael Halfacre.
Division is prepared to process applications
from out-of state wineries and will operate
this program with the utmost integrity,”
be eligible for an Out-of-State Winery License,
a winery possessing a current and valid
winery license issued by another state must
meet the following requirements, among others:
It shall not produce more than 250,000
gallons per year and shall not own,
either in whole or in part, directly
or indirectly, any interest in a winery
that produces more than 250,000 gallons
It is only permitted to ship products
it has manufactured.
It shall ensure that all products shipped
and sold are brand registered in New
It is limited to shipments of no more
than 12 cases per year, per person (21
years of age or older), for personal
It shall comply with all tax collection
and remission requirements established
by the New Jersey Division of Taxation.
for the license will pay an annual fee ranging
from $63 to $938, depending on yearly production.
more information about the license or application
information, please visit the Division’s