Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer
Division of Taxation
Luxury & Fuel Inefficient Vehicle Surcharge

Effective July 15, 2006, new car dealerships are responsible for collecting a 0.4% surcharge on the new sale or lease of vehicles priced $45,000 or greater or on vehicles having an EPA rating of less than 19 miles per gallon. Payment of the surcharge which is due on the 20th of the month following each quarter, will be paid online. The first filing will be in October, 2006 for the third quarter.

If you have any other questions regarding the surcharge and the issuance of vehicle titles in New Jersey, please contact the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for additional information.

Last Updated: Friday, 02/18/11


Revenue: Home | Registrations | Certifications | Tax Filings | NJBGS | Refund Policy | Contact us
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesFormsContact Us
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 -
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification