The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
Home > Consumer Information > Personal Finance > Credit Awareness/ID Theft > Get Your Free Credit Report

Get Your Free Credit Report

As a New Jersey resident, you are entitled to one free copy of your credit report from each of the three nationwide credit reporting agencies (Equifax, Experian and TransUnion) once a year.

Under the 2003 Fair and Accurate Credit Transactions Act, every American has the right to a free copy of their credit report from each of the nationwide agencies. is the official site to help consumers to obtain their free credit report from the nationwide agencies. This central site allows you to request free reports once every 12 months.

Consumers should request their free reports in one of these three ways:
1. Go to (the only authorized source for consumers to access their annual credit report online for free).
2. Call toll free 1-877-322-8228
3. Complete the form, available from the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), and mail it to: Annual Credit Report Request Service, PO Box 105281, Atlanta, GA 30348-5281.
You'll be able to order all three credit reports at one time, or you may consider staggering the reports at different times throughout the year. You should review your credit report from each credit reporting agency at least once a year.

The new ruling doesn't replace the other ways to receive a free credit report. If a company denies you credit, insurance or a job because of something in your credit report, that company has to tell you which credit agency provided the information. You are entitled to a free credit report from that agency within 60 days of being turned down.

Contacting Credit Reporting Agencies Directly

Although it is no longer necessary, New Jersey residents may wish to contact each of the credit reporting agencies directly. (As a New Jersey resident you are entitled to one free copy of each credit reporting agency's credit report once a year.)

Things to Note...

If you desire to receive the reports more frequently, the agencies will charge you for them. (Cost per report ranges from $9 to $40 per report, depending on the agency.)
If you find an error, the credit reporting agency must investigate and respond to you within 30 days.
If you are in the process of applying for insurance, immediately notify the insurance company of any incorrect information in your credit report.
Need to file a complaint against a credit reporting agency? Use this form or contact the Federal Trade Commission (FTC).
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance