The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
search  


Home > Insurance Division > Insurance Licensing and Education > Live Scan Fingerprinting
Live Scan: Electronic Fingerprinting Process
Criminal History Background Investigation

New Jersey law (PL2003, Chapter 199) requires that every applicant and any officer, director, partner or owner of a controlling interest of a corporation or partnership applying for a resident insurance producer or public adjuster license issued by this Department submit fingerprints and written consent for a criminal history record check. Previously, fingerprinting involved the manual ink and roll method; however new technology allows for electronic impressions.

To provide for a timely and efficient criminal history background review, the Department will be utilizing the State Police coordinated non-criminal justice fingerprinting process known as Live Scan. The State of New Jersey has contracted with a vendor, IDEMIA, to perform this service. The company has established permanent sites throughout the State as well as several mobile units available to meet their contractual agreement.

Applicant Notification and Record Challenge: Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI.  You have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record.  The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), 16.34.

 
 
How to Schedule an Appointment
 
Appointment scheduling is available via the
Internet 24 hours per day, 7 days per week at
https://uenroll.identogo.com/.

The Department encourages everyone to schedule their appointment using this website to avoid telephone holding times. For applicants who do not have internet access, appointments are available through the toll free call center at 1-877-503-5981 on a first call, first served basis Monday through Friday, 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM and Saturday, 8:00 AM to 12 noon. Hearing impaired scheduling is available at 1-800-673-0353. English and Spanish operators are available through the Call Center.

During online scheduling you will be prompted for either the Producer code or Public Adjuster code. You are able to look up the proper code following the instructions provided on the site but for your convenience the codes are provided here. The Producer code is 2F16Y3 and the Public Adjuster code is 2F1F7N. Please make sure you use the proper license type code.

Producer license candidates and those individuals seeking a Temporary Insurance license will use code 2F16Y3 and for those seeking a Public Adjuster license the code is 2F1F7N.

 
Fees

New Fees Effective June 1, 2019

Processing Fee:
All applicants must pay the criminal history record check fee directly to IDEMIA. The total cost for this process is $66.05. Payment will be required at the time of scheduling. The following forms of payment are accepted:
Visa, MasterCard, American Expresss, Discover and prepaid debit cards, or electronic debit (ACH) from a checking account.

Cancellation Fee: An appointment fee of $12 plus tax ($12.80) is charged to cover the cost of a scheduled appointment for applicants who do not cancel/reschedule by 5 p.m. EST on the business day prior to the scheduled appointment (Saturday noon for Monday appointments). An appointment fee of $12 plus tax ($12.80) also applies to applicants who are turned away from the printing sites due to their inability to present proper ID or who fail to present the proper and current version of the Universal Fingerprint form. All refunds are issued by IDEMIA.

 
Proper Identification

Acceptable ID Requirements: ID MUST include Photo, Name, Address (Home/Employer) and Date of Birth. Acceptable ID MUST be issued by a Federal, State, County, or Municipal entity for Identification purposes. Examples of acceptable ID are

1) Valid Photo Driver's License or Valid Photo ID issued by any State DMV or NJ MVC
2) Passport.

Acceptable ID MUST meet all of the underlined requirements above and MUST be present on one (1) ID. Combinations of documents are NOT acceptable. If acceptable ID is not presented you will not be fingerprinted.

 
Frequently Asked Questions Concerning Electronic Fingerprinting

If an individual has been fingerprinted in the State of New Jersey for another purpose, is the individual required to go through the process again?

Yes.  Regulations concerning dissemination of criminal history information prohibit its use outside the intended purpose. Federal and State security and privacy regulations dictate that dissemination of this information may only be for the purpose expressed in the form field identified as "Reason Fingerprinted." Sharing of criminal history information is therefore prohibited.

When should I schedule the fingerprint scan?

The Department suggests that you schedule the fingerprint scan immediately after you pass the licensing exam. The scheduled appointment will be within 7 to 10 days of completing the scheduling process. Remember that we suggest you take advantage of online appointment scheduling.

Who needs to schedule a fingerprint scan for criminal history purposes?

Individuals applying for a New Jersey resident producer or public adjuster license. Individuals currently licensed do not need to complete this process. Individuals who will serve as an officer, director, partner or owner of a controlling interest of a corporation or partnership applying as a resident business entity applicant or who are being added to an existing licensee.


NOTE:
Non-resident applicants and licensees are not required to submit to our criminal history background investigation and will not need to complete the Live Scan - Electronic Fingerprinting process.

 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance