New Jersey provides special consideration for active duty military personnel. Special privileges are also available for service-disabled or blind veterans (see below).
If you are on active military duty and have been deployed, including New Jersey National Guard and Reserve, you and your immediate family are entitled to automatic extensions for your driver license, registration and inspection requirements.
When you are demobilized, you will need to renew your expired documents within 90 days of your demobilization date or return from duty.
If you enter or are an active member of the U.S. Armed Forces and have a valid New Jersey registration, you can get a refund for the remainder of the registration period.
To obtain a refund:
You may qualify for free registration, if you meet the following classifications:
To apply for free registration, call 609 292-6500 extension 5076 for an application.
Mail the certified application with affixed seal or stamp of the U.S. Veterans Administration to:
New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
P.O. Box 016
Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0016
Once the free registration status has been established, all subsequent renewals can be completed at a motor vehicle agency, or through the mail in the envelope provided.
Disabled Veteran, Purple Heart Recipient Placards
Jersey law (N.J.S.A. 39:4-207.10) permits exemption from payment of municipal parking meter fees, for up to 24 hours, for disabled veterans and Purple Heart recipients under certain, specific circumstances. See more disabled veteran information. Click here to download the Disabled Veteran and Purple Heart Recipient Placard Application (Form SP-47).
We are required to capture a customer’s full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin. If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.