The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
search  

Home > Insurance Division > Insurance Licensing and Education > Licensing Fees
Insurance Producer Licensing Fees
For Paper Applications - Biennial Producer and Public Adjuster Licenses
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance offers an online application service.  All producers are encouraged to utilize our electronic process for faster, easier and less costly license application, appointments and terminations. 
 
Producer License License Fee Processing Fee Total
Initial Resident & Nonresident Individual (Major Lines) $150 $40 $190
Initial Resident & Nonresident Business Entity (Major Lines) $150 $40 $190
Initial Resident and Nonresident Individual (Limited Lines Only) $75 $40 $115
Initial Resident and Nonresident Business Entity (Limited Lines Only) $75 $40 $115
Disabled Veterans – Resident and Nonresident Individuals* Waived Waived $0
Individual and Business Major Line Renewal $150 $20 $170
Individual and Business Limited Line Renewal $75 $20 $95
Late Renewal Fee (Major Lines)                    $150 + $100 $20 $270
Late Renewal Fee (Limited Lines Only)           $75 + $50 $20  $145
Disabled Veterans Renewal - Resident or Nonresident Individuals* Waived Waived $0
Reactivate License (during 2-year term of license) N/A $40 $40
Additional Line of Authority N/A $40 $40
Branch Office Registration N/A $20 $20
Producer Company Appointment/Termination Fee N/A $35 $35
License Certification $0 $0 $0
Address Change $0 $0 $0
Appointment Renewal (electronic only) $0 $25 $25
Duplicate License $0 $0 $0
       
Public Adjuster License License Fee Processing Fee Total
Initial Individual $50 $20 $70
Initial Individual (Disabled Vet*) $0 $0 $0
Initial Organization $50 $20 $70
Temporary Sub-licensee $50 $20 $70
Temporary Sub-licensee (Disabled Vet*) $0 $0 $0
Individual Renewal $50 $0 $50
Organization Renewal $50 $0 $50
Temporary Sub-licensee Renewal $50 $0 $50
 

*Documentation confirming service-connected disability is required. Acceptable documentation includes Veterans Administration form DD214 or other official notification.

Resident Applicants Only:
The Department is required to complete a criminal history background investigation for every individual applicant for a producer or public adjuster license. Through participation in Live Scan-Electronic Fingerprinting, the Department conducts a New Jersey State Police and FBI criminal record check.

Each officer, partner, director or owner of 10% or more of a business entity who is noted on a resident organization or business application must also submit electronic fingerprints.

Last Modified: January 2012
 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance