State Seal New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

Translate disclaimer

Restoring Your License or Registration


 

New Jersey State Law (N.J.S.A. 39:3-10a) requires payment of a $100 fee for the restoration of any license or registration that has been suspended or revoked pursuant to any law or regulation.  This fee is in addition to any fees that may be related to alcohol related suspensions.
To pay a restoration fee:

  • Pay the $100 restoration fee online. The Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) has waived the online convenience fee to process this transaction.
  • Pay in person at a Full Service motor vehicle agency.
  • For faster mail processing, send a check or money order payable to the NJMVC, with the bottom portion of the suspension notice to:
    New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
    P.O. Box 140
    Trenton, NJ 08650-0140
  • If missing the bottom portion of the suspension notice, send a check or money order payable to the NJMVC at the following address:

          New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission

          P.O. Box 134

          Trenton, NJ 08650-0134

  • Please include your driver's license number on all payments.

It is the driver’s responsibility to submit proof of payment of outstanding fines or tickets to the MVC to be restored.
Once you have satisfied the reason for the suspension, completed any suspension period that had been ordered and paid the required fees, you will receive a Notice of Restoration in the mail.  If the license was surrendered and has expired, follow the same steps for a standard license renewal to obtain a new license.
A mandatory one year probation period begins if restoration is issued after a suspension for points or persistent violator, after completion of a Probationary Driver Program (PDP) or Driver Improvement Program (DIP) or after an official warning issued by the MVC.  If a violation occurs within the probation or warning period, the suspension term shall be:

 

Violation

Suspension

For the first violation within a year  

Within 6 months of restoration

90 days

Within 7–9 months

60 days

Within 10–12 months

45 days

For second or subsequent violations*  

Within 6 months of restoration

180 days

Within 7–9 months

120 days

Within 10–12 months

90 days

 

*If you receive three license suspensions within a three-year period, you may lose your license for up to three years.

Parking violations

The MVC does not issue parking tickets nor collect payments on them.  All tickets and suspensions are processed through the New Jersey municipal courts and the MVC is required to follow the actions of the court by recording the suspension to the driver history record. 

How to pay parking tickets

  • Follow the instructions on the back of the ticket.
  • It is usually possible to pay online, by mail or in person at the court.
  • If you have lost your parking ticket, please contact the municipal court where your ticket was issued.
  • Once satisfied, you must submit proof of satisfaction to the MVC.

Tickets on plates that are no longer yours

If you receive a parking ticket on plates that are no longer yours or a vehicle that does not match the vehicle you own, you need to submit proof to the court. The MVC can provide you with supporting documentation, if you follow these steps:

  • Get a copy of the original ticket (not the summons) from the municipality that issued it.
  • Write a letter to the MVC explaining that the plates are no longer yours or does not match the vehicle you own; include your signature..
  • Include the license plate number that was ticketed, your new plate number, your driver's license number, and your address..
  • If you surrendered the old plates and kept the receipt, please provide a copy of that receipt.
  • Send the letter, a copy of the ticket and the summons to:

    New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission
    Customer Advocacy Office
    P.O. Box 403
    Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0403

The MVC will complete a search for the plate number and send you a letter with the results.  You should retain a copy of that letter for your records in case of a future occurrence.

Penalties and fines

Driving is a privilege, not a right. If you violate traffic laws, your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked resulting in fines and even imprisonment. The seriousness of your violations - and resulting penalties - are tracked by the MVC using a point system.

If you are convicted of a moving violation, the MVC will penalize you by adding points to your driving record. You will only get points on your record for moving violations - points are not assessed for parking and other non-moving violations. A table is provided for more information on the number of points earned for specific violations.

How do points affect you?

  • If you get six or more points within three years on your current driving record, you will be assessed a surcharge.
  • If you get 12 or more points on your current driving record, your license will be suspended. You will receive a notice of scheduled suspension by mail.
  • Getting points on your license may also increase your insurance rates. Contact your insurance carrier for details.

How can I get rid of points on my record?

Although the MVC keeps a permanent record of all the points you've earned, it is possible to earn point deductions by remaining violation and suspension-free for one year or by taking qualified driving courses approved by the MVC.

Note: Your insurance company might not factor these deductions into your insurance rate.

 

Deduction Points Restrictions

One year with no violations or suspensions

-3

Year begins on date of violation or most recent restoration.

Defensive Driving Program

-2

May be used to subtract points once every five years.

Driver Improvement Program

-3

May only be used to subtract points once every two years in response to MVC proposed action.

Probationary Driver Program

-3

May only be completed one time when ordered by MVC to attend.

 

NJSA point schedule

Point assessments for the most common offenses are listed below. Be advised that local municipal ordinances and violations occurring on the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway or Atlantic City Expressway that have a Title 39 equivalent will be assessed points.

 

                                                                                                                           
NJSA Section Offense Points

New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway and Atlantic City Expressway

27:23–29

Moving against traffic

2

27:23–29

Improper passing

4

27:23–29

Unlawful use of median strip

2

All roads and highways

39:3–20

Operating constructor vehicle in excess of 45 mph

3

39:4–14.3

Operating motorized bicycle on a restricted highway

2

39:4–14.3d

More than one person on a motorized bicycle

2

39:4–35

Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk

2

39:4–36

Failure to yield to pedestrian in crosswalk; passing a vehicle yielding to pedestrian in crosswalk

2

39:4– 41

Driving through safety zone

2

39:4–52

Racing on highway

5

39:4–55

Improper action or omission on grades and curves

2

39:4–57

Failure to observe direction of officer

2

39:4–66

Failure to stop vehicle before crossing sidewalk

2

39:4–66.1

Failure to yield to pedestrians or vehicles while entering or leaving highway

2

39:4–66.2

Driving on public or private property to avoid a traffic sign or signal

2

39:4–71

Operating a motor vehicle on a sidewalk

2

39:4–80

Failure to obey direction of officer

2

39:4–81

Failure to observe traffic signals* (Red Light Camera- 0 pts.)

2

 

*No points assessed for red light camera violation

0

39:4–82

Failure to keep right

2

39:4–82.1

Improper operating of vehicle on divided highway or divider

2

39:4–83

Failure to keep right at intersection

2

39:4–84

Failure to pass to right of vehicle proceeding in opposite direction

5

39:4–85

Improper passing on right or off roadway

4

39:4–85.1

Wrong way on a one-way street

2

39:4–86

Improper passing in no passing zone

4

39:4–87

Failure to yield to overtaking vehicle

2

39:4–88

Failure to observe traffic lanes

2

39:4–89

Tailgating

5

39:4–90

Failure to yield at intersection

2

39:4–90.1

Failure to use proper entrances to limited access highways

2

39:4–91–92

Failure to yield to emergency vehicles

2

39:4–96

Reckless driving

5

39:4–97

Careless driving

2

39:4–97a

Destruction of agricultural or recreational property

2

39:4–97.1

Slow speed blocking traffic

2

39:4–97.2

Driving in an unsafe manner (points only for third or subsequent offense within five years of most recent 39:4-97.2 conviction)

4

39:4-97.3

Use of a handheld cellphone or electronic communication device while driving                                        
3 Points are assessed against 3rd offense occurring within 10 years of a second offense and all subsequent offenses thereafter.*

3

39:4–98

Exceeding maximum speed 1-14 mph over limit

2

Exceeding maximum speed 15-29 mph over limit

4

Exceeding maximum speed 30 mph or more over limit

5

39:4–105

Failure to stop for traffic light

2

39:4–115

Improper turn at traffic light

3

39:4–119

Failure to stop at flashing red signal

2

39:4–122

Failure to stop for police whistle

2

39:4–123

Improper right or left turn

3

39:4–124

Improper turn from approved turning course

3

39:4–125

Improper u-turn

3

39:4–126

Failure to give proper signal

2

39:4–127

Improper backing or turning in street

2

39:4–127.1

Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing

2

39:4–127.2

Improper crossing of bridge

2

39:4–128

Improper crossing of railroad grade crossing by certain vehicles

2

39:4–128.1

Improper passing of school bus

5

39:4–128.4

Improper passing of frozen dessert truck

4

39:4–129

Leaving the scene of an accident –
no personal injury

2

Personal injury

8

39:4–144

Failure to observe stop or yield signs

2

39:5C–1

Racing on highway

5

39:5D–4

Moving violation committed out-of-state

2

 

Violations committed in other states

Even though you are a New Jersey driver, you can still acquire points and penalties for violations committed in other states. New Jersey is a member of two compacts that enforce this policy.

The Driver License Compact

  • Consists of 45 states and the District of Columbia. States not included are Georgia, Massachusetts, Michigan, Tennessee, and Wisconsin.
  • Members in this compact exchange all violation information. Out-of-state moving violations are worth two points. For example, if you receive a speeding ticket in Florida, you will get two points on your New Jersey driving record for that violation regardless of how many points it may have been assessed if it occurred in New Jersey.

The Non-resident Violator Compact

  • Consists of 44 states and the District of Columbia. States not included are Alaska, California, Michigan, Montana, Oregon, and Wisconsin.
  • Assures non-resident motorists the same rights and privileges as residents.
  • Non-resident drivers have due process protection and cannot be detained out-of-state.
  • Requires drivers to fulfill the terms of traffic citations received in member states or face the possibility of license suspension in their home state.
  • Does not apply to parking or standing violations, highway weight limit violations and violations of Hazmat transportation laws.

Uninsured Motorist Suspensions (UMS)

New Jersey law prohibits the registration, or, if already registered, the operation, of a motor vehicle unless it is covered by specified limits of liability insurance coverage (N.J.S.A. 39:6B-1).  If you received a scheduled suspension or order of suspension for being an Uninsured Motorist, (Look for one of the following event codes on top left side of your letter:  UMS-S-ICRG, UMS-O-ICRG, UMS-S-ICLS, UMS-O-ICLC) you must do the following to restore your privileges:

  • Submit a photocopy of your current NJ insurance identification card for the vehicle(s) (but not for the cancelled policy);
    OR
  • Submit a photocopy of the declaration page of your current insurance policy describing the vehicle(s) and coverage.

If you no longer own or use the vehicle(s), or if it is registered in another state, you must:

  • Surrender the registration certificate(s) and license plates to the MVC; AND submit a photocopy of the receipt for the surrendered license plates.
  • If the license plates are no longer in your possession, you must submit an RSC-6 form explaining what happened to the license plates.

The above documentation may be submitted by:

  • FAX:  609-777-3178  or  609-777-3179    
  • Email : UMSSRGROUPMVC@MVC.NJ.GOV 
  • US Mail  to the NJMVC, PO BOX 132, Trenton, NJ 08666

Please include your name, driver's license number, and day time phone number on all correspondence.

If your registration privileges are suspended, you should not drive or operate the vehicle(s) until you have received written notification from the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission that your registration privileges, and the registration for that vehicle, have been restored. 

If your driving privileges have been suspended, you should not operate a vehicle until you have received written notification from the Chief Administrator of the Motor Vehicle Commission that your driving privileges have been restored. 

If both your driving and registration privileges are suspended, they will not be restored until the above mentioned requirements are met and a $100 restoration fee for each privilege affected is submitted (Registration and License.)

DUI: Driving Under the Influence

In New Jersey, a person with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or greater who operates a motor vehicle or a boat is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI). The law also provides that operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of intoxicating liquor, narcotic, or hallucinogenic or habit-producing drug may be proven by other observational-type evidence with or without a particular BAC test result.

Additionally, if you "permit another person" who is "under the influence" pusuant to the DUI statute to operate a motor vehicle or boat that you own or is in your custody or control, you are also subject to the DUI law's mandatory penalties..

Being convicted of a DUI is a serious offense, carrying heavy penalties including:

  • Fines, fees and surcharges;
  • License suspension;
  • Ignition interlock device;
  • Jail time;
  • Community service; and
  • Completion of Intoxicated Driver Program.

Failure to pay DUI surcharges will result in:

  • Indefinite suspension of driving privileges.
  • Action filed in State Superior Court by the MVC. This may include securing a lien against your property, garnishing your wages or other similar action.
  • Mandatory fines and penalties for DUI.

 

 
Alcohol related DUI with BAC with 0.10% or greater OR Drug-related DUI

License loss

Fines, fees & surcharges

Prison term

Community service, IDRC & Interlock

7 months – 1 year

$300–$500 fine
$230 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

Up to 30 days

12–48 hours IDRC*
BAC 0.15% or greater: ignition interlock device during license suspension and 6 months - 1 year following restoration

 

Alcohol related DUI with BAC equal to or greater than 0.08% but less than 0.10% OR based on observational evidence with or without a particular BAC

License loss

Fines, fees & surcharges

Prison term

Community service, IDRC & Interlock

3 months

$250–$400 fine
$230 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

Up to 30 days

12–48 hours IDRC*

 

Repeated DUI convictions

Offense

License loss

Fines, fees & surcharges

Prison term

Community service, IDRC & Interlock

2nd offense within 10 years*

2 years

$500–$1,000 fine
$280 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

48 hours–
90 days

30 days CS
12–48 hours IDRC*
Ignition interlock device during license suspension and 1-3 years following restoration

3rd offense within 10 years of 2nd offense*

10 years

$1,000 fine
$280 IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

180 days

Up to 90 days CS (can reduce period of imprisonment)
12–48 hours IDRC*
Ignition interlock device during license suspension and 1-3 years following restoration

*NOTE: a second offense 10 years or more after a first offense will be treated as if a first offense for purposes of sentencing on that matter; also a third offense 10 years or more after a second offense will be treated as if a second offense for purposes of sentencing on that matter. However, there are no statutory "step-down" treatments beyond a third offense.

Mandatory fines and penalties for refusing Alcotest/Breathalyzer

In New Jersey if you get arrested for a DUI, you must take an Alcotest/Breathalyzer test. When you get your license in New Jersey, you give consent for this test, known as "implied consent." If you refuse to take an Alcotest/Breathalyzer test, you will be detained and brought to a hospital where hospital staff may draw blood.  If convicted of refusing to submit to a test, the penalties are similar to a conviction for DUI.

 

Offense

License loss

Fines, fees & surcharges

Program requirement

1st

7 months – 1 year
1-2 years; school zone

$300-$500 fine
$600-$1,000 fine; school zone
$230/day IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

12 hours minimum IDRC*

2nd

2 years
4 years; school zone

$500-$1,000 fine
$1,000-$2,000 fine; school zone
$230/day IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*
$1,000/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

12 hours minimum IDRC*

3rd and subsequent

10 years
20 years; school zone

$1,000 fine
$2000 fine; school zone
$230/day IDRC* fee
$100 to drunk driving fund
$100 to AERF*

12 hours minimum IDRC*

 

 

$1,500/year (for 3 years) surcharge
$75 to Neighborhood Services Fund

 

 

Notes:

  • *IDRC - Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
  • *AERF - Alcohol Education and Rehabilitation Fund
  • Underage drinking may cause a six-month delay in getting a license.
  • Alcohol and drug-related offenses require completion of an alcohol screening and evaluation program.

Related Alcohol Offenses

 

   
Driving or riding with an open container

Offense

Fines

  Community service

  1st

  $200

  –

  2nd

  $250

  10 days

 

Driving with a DUI suspension

License loss

Fines or surcharges

Prison term

Additional
 1–2 years

$500 fine
$250/year (for 3 years) surcharge

  10–90 days

 

  • In certain circumstances, driving while suspended for a DUI could be an indictable offense, punishable by 180-days in jail.

 

 

Driving while possessing drugs

License loss

Fines or surcharges

  2 years

  Minimum $50 fine

 

 

Underage DUI

If you are under 21 years old and are convicted of driving or boating with a BAC of .01% or higher, the following penalties apply:

  • 30–90 day license suspension;
  • Possible combination of the minimum sentences above and select DUI Mandatory Fines and Penalties, depending on the situation (see above);
  • 15–30 days mandatory community service; and
  • Participation in alcohol education and highway safety programs at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (see below).
  • If you are unlicensed and under 17 years of age at the time of the incident, you are subject to a 30–90 day delay in processing your driver license.

Ignition interlock device

If your license was suspended for a DUI offense, the court may require you to install an ignition interlock device to prevent a vehicle from starting if your BAC exceeds 0.05%. Residents of New Jersey must have the device installed at an installation site within the State of New Jersey.

Ignition interlock device requirements

  • First DUI offense: Installation of interlock device for six months to one year upon restoration (judge's discretion); BAC 0.15% or greater requires mandatory installation of ignition interlock device during license suspension and for six months to one year following restoration.
  • Second DUI offense: Mandatory installation of interlock device during license suspension and for one to three years following restoration.

If the court orders you to install an interlock device, you will receive a notice of suspension from the MVC with instructions on how to obtain the device. IMPORTANT NOTE: Failure to have an ignition interlock installed when ordered by a judge could result in the denial of restoration and an additional one year driving privilege suspension if convicted of driving without an interlock device.  For installation availability for motorcycles and autocycles please contact the listed manufacturers directly.

 

Approved list of ignition interlock manufacturers

Ignition interlock manufacturers have installation locations throughout New Jersey. When selecting an ignition interlock provider, consider the installation and monitoring fees and installation center site convenience.

Company

Contact/Website

Guardian Interlock Systems
4290 Glendale Milford Road
Cincinnati OH 45242-3704

(800) 499-0994
www.guardianinterlock.com

Alcohol Detection Systems
1718 Belmont Avenue Suite E
Baltimore, MD 21244

1-888-STOP-DUI (888-786-7384)
www.statewideinterlock.com

Draeger Safety Diagnostics
4040 W Royal Lane Suite 136
Irving, TX 75063

(856) 753- 9700
(800) 970-1002
www.interlockdevice.com

1A Smart Start, Inc.
4950 Plaza Drive
Irving,TX 75063

(866) 387-8366
www.smartstartinc.com

Intoxalock
11035 Aurora Ave. Bldg. 1
Des Moines ,IA 50322

(833) 210-8424
www.intoxalock.com/newjersey

Simple Interlock
7100 Boulevard 26 Suite 301A
Richland Hills, TX. 76118

(844) 432-4775
www.simpleiid.com

LifeSafer
4290 Glendale Milford Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242-3704

(800) 475-7151
www.LifeSafer.com

Low Cost Interlock,Inc.
2038 W. Park Ave.
Redlands, CA 92373

(844) 316-7988
www.lowcostinterlock.com

Best Labs
590 East Western Reserve Rd.
Building 10-J
Poland, OH 44514

(800) 219-9936
www.sensolockamerica.com

 


FAQ's- Frequently Asked Questions

Download the most frequently asked questions [pdf] about ignition interlock devices.

Intoxicated Driver Program (IDP)

Any person convicted of an alcohol and/or drug related traffic/driving offense, if court ordered, must participate in a program at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC).

  • New Jersey has an IDRC in each county for first and third-time offenders and regional IDRC 48-hour centers for second-time offenders.
  • During the program, offenders receive mandatory alcohol and highway safety education training.
  • IDRC also screens each offender for any possible addiction problems and determines the need for a full addiction assessment.
  • If the assessment determines that treatment is needed, the offender must successfully complete treatment and be monitored for a minimum of 16 weeks by the IDRC.
  • IDRC reports non-compliance with education and/or treatment to the courts and the Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP). IDP makes a recommendation to the MVC for suspension or restoration based on the offender’s successful completion of conviction requirements.

Satisfactory participation in IDRC is a step toward restoring your license. Failure to comply will result in further license suspension and possible jail time.

 

IDRC fees and other related charges may apply:

Charge

Paid To

$100 attendance fee

MVC

$264 first offender fee

IDRC

$321 second offender fee

IDRC

$100 license restoration fee

MVC

 



The NJ Department of Human Services, Division of Mental Health and Addiction Services, Intoxicated Driving Program (IDP) coordinates the operation of the IDRC’s statewide, whose contact information can be found on their website at http://www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dmhas/resources/services/treatment/addictions/IDRC_Directory.pdf.