Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Contact
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Report Fraud
What is Insurance Fraud?
Medicaid Fraud Control Unit
Fraud Laws
Annual Reports
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
State Athletic Control Board
Division of NJ State Police
Victims of Crime Compensation Office
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
Non Profit Information
 
spacer
spacer
NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor View Biography & Photo of the NJ Insurance Fraud Prosecutor
NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor
View Biography & Photo of the NJ Insurance Fraud Prosecutor
NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor OIFP Home OIFP News OIFP Library Contact OIFP About OIFP
NJ Office of the Insurance Fraud Prosecutor What Is Insurance Fraud OIFP Frequently Asked Questions Fraud Laws Law Enforcement Resources Report Insurance Fraud Here
Public Awareness
OIFP 22 x 28 Printed Poster
See our 2014 campaign
 
Fraud Tip Hotline...
Toll Free
1-877-55-FRAUD
(1-877-553-7283)
 
Report Fraud Online...
Report Fraud Here!
 
 
spacer
What Is Insurance Fraud?
spacer spacer
  It's a CRIME.
  spacer
spacer spacer
  Who Commits Insurance Fraud in NJ?
spacer spacer
 
Who Commits Insurance Fraud? "With possible exception of murder and drug abuse, no serious crime attracts as wide a variety of perpetrators as insurance fraud. People who would never think of robbing a bank, stealing a car or burglarizing a home can find the temptations of "easy money" from insurance fraud hard to resist.
spacer spacer
  The files of the Office of Insurance Fraud Prosecutor demonstrate that Insurance Fraud is crime committed by people in a wide range of occupations."
spacer spacer
  Fraud Examples:
spacer spacer
 
  Note - This list is not all inclusive. There are many other instances of insurance fraud and crimes not highlighted here.  
 
arrow Automobile Accidents
arrow Automobile Insurance
arrow Health Care Claims
arrow Insurance Applications
arrow Medicaid
arrow Disability Benefits
arrow Unemployment Insurance
arrow Workers' Compensation
arrow Videos of Various Fraud Scenarios
 
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
  Automobile Accidents  
 
arrow It's illegal to receive treatment for phony injuries
arrow It's illegal for doctors, medical facilities, chiropractors, etc. to overbill for treatments, or to bill for treatments not provided.
arrow It's illegal for people to stage car accidents to bilk or cheat insurance companies.
arrow These are all violations of the Health Care Claims Fraud Act.
 
 
   
     
  Automobile Insurance  
 
arrow It's illegal to make or sell a fake motor vehicle insurance card.
arrow This is a violation of N.J.S.A. 2C:21-2.1a.
arrow Punishable by up to 18 months in jail and a $10,000 fine. Also, a person convicted is required to perform 30 days of community service.
 
 
 

To find out more about automobile insurance and coverage options go to NJ Department of Banking and Insurance - Shopping for Automobile Insurance in NJ Web site

 
   
     
  Health Care Claims Fraud  
 
arrow It's illegal to submit a false claim form to an insurance company in order to be paid for health care services which were not received or provided.
arrow This is a violation of the New Jersey Health Care Claims Fraud Act, N.J.S.A. 2C:21-4.2 and 2C:21-4.3.
arrow
In addition, this person can be required to pay a fine of up to $150,000 or up to five times the amount of the claim.
arrow A person who is not a doctor, chiropractor, etc., could be sentenced to 3 to 5 years in jail for filing just one false claim.
 
   
     
  Insurance Applications  
 
arrow It's illegal to make or sell a fake motor vehicle insurance card.
arrow So if you don't live in New Jersey...don't try to insure your car here!
arrow It's illegal to make an oral or written statement which is false or misleading in order to obtain insurance (such as home, health, life or automobile insurance).
arrow So tell the truth to your insurance agent and on your application!
arrow Licensed professionals who violate the insurance laws, from electricians to lawyers, may lose their State licenses!
arrow
A person who is not a doctor, chiropractor, etc., could be sentenced to 3 to 5 years in jail for filing just one false claim.
arrow In addition to possible criminal penalties, a person violating the insurance laws may be required to pay a civil penalty of up to $5,000 N.J.S.A. 17:33A-5.
 
 
   
     
  Medicaid Fraud  
 
arrow It's illegal to participate in a scheme to offer or receive kickbacks in connection with the furnishing of items or services which are billable to the Medicaid program.
arrow It's illegal to over bill Medicaid for services provided.
arrow It's illegal to receive more Medicaid benefits than you're entitled to.
arrow These are violations of N.J.S.A. 30:4D-17.
arrow Punishable by up to 3 years in prison and a $10,000 penalty.
arrow
They may also be violations of the Health Care Claims Fraud Act and other criminal statutes.
  Visit the Medicaid Fraud Control Unit Web site
 
   
     
  Disability Benefits  
 
arrow It's illegal to receive these benefits if you are not disabled and can really perform the functions of your job.
arrow To do so is considered theft.

 
   
     
  Unemployment Insurance Fraud  
 
arrow It's illegal to collect unemployment benefits while you are working.
arrow This is theft from the State unemployment insurance fund.
arrow
If you steal over $500 you can go to jail for 3 to 5 years and be required to pay a fine of up to $15,000. Theft of more than $200 is punishable by up to 18 months in jail and a $10,000 fine. Theft of $75,000 or more is a second degree crime, punishable by 5 to 10 years in prison and a $150,000 fine.
 
   
     
  Workers' Compensation  
 
arrow It's illegal for an employer not to purchase workers' compensation insurance.
arrow Failure to purchase workers' compensation insurance violates N.J.S.A. 34:15-79.
 
   
 
     
  Videos of Various Fraud Scenarios  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
     
   
OAG Home Attorney General's Biography
Attorney General's Biography
Executive Assistant Attorney General
Attorney General's Message Ask the Attorney General
Contact OAG About OAG
OAG News OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Library Employment
OAG Grants Proposed Rules
OAG History OAG Services A-Z
Statutes
OAG Agencies / Programs / Units
Highlights
View the 2011 OAG Annual Report
Report Fraud!
OIFP Annual Reports
Law Enforcement Resources
Report Medicaid Fraud Here or Call 609-896-8772
Know When Your Civil Rights Have Been Violated
Report Crime Online or Call 866-TIPS-4CJ
NJ Amber Alert Plan
   
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement spacer
NJ Home Logo
spacer
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions: email or call 609-292-4925
OAG Home OAG Home