New Jersey Department of Education

Recognition Ceremony May 15, 2019

The State Board of Education on May 15, 2019, honored students, student groups and an educator from around the state at the annual recognition ceremony at the Mercer County Technical Schools Arthur R. Sypek Center in Ewing Township. The students, who were accompanied by the executive county superintendent, school and school district officials, family, and friends, were recognized for their leadership qualities, academic success, and volunteerism both at school and their communities. The educator was recognized for outstanding professional achievements.


Students, student groups and the educator who received honors are:


Student Recognition

Burlington County – Devin Torres, Thomas E. Harrington Middle School, Mount Laurel Township School District

Camden County – Spencer Levy, Cherry Hill High School East, Cherry Hill School District

Cape May County – Logan Thomas, Middle Township High School, Middle Township School District

Hunterdon County – Unified Program, Voorhees High School. Student representatives: Jenna Baranek, Jessica Brynildsen, Trevor Esch, Daniel Jordan, William Layfield, William Lyons, Jacob Sawyer and Alex Warner.

Mercer County – Interact Volunteer Club, Trenton Central High School. Student representatives: Denzel Davis, Emily DeJesus, Christopher Jimenez, Michael Palma, Victor Ramirez, Nitzy Rivas and Kimberly Sanic.

Morris County – Kids Helping Kids, Hanover Park High School. Student representatives: Megan Bright, Teresa Colegrove, Gina DeCroce, DeAnna DiMaiolo, Jeanan Mokhemar, Houda Sabeh and Larissa Salmeri.

Passaic County – Dream Mats Project Team, Passaic Valley Regional High School. Student representative: Gabriella Cordova.

Salem County – Pride Diversity Leadership Group, Penns Grove Middle School. Student representatives: Natalia Charon, Brooke Connor, Juan Garcia-Arellano, Adrianna Green, Asanté Johnson, Dustin Milici, Lydia Lemke, Mia Marinaro, Lauren Milewski, Judith Ramos, Christian Speaker and Madison VanNamee.

Sussex County – Designers, Craftsmen, Inventors Teams, High Point Regional High School. Student representatives: Brandon Dwornikoski, Cody Farischon, Charles Hautau, Harold Leslie and Andrew Mazzawy.

Warren County – In Her Element Club, Phillipsburg High School. Student representatives: Julianne Cullen, Madison DeGerolamo, Tanner James, Trisha Pakkala, Katie Semon, Morgan Smith and Alexa Thompson.


Special Awards

U.S. Senate Youth Delegate – Jacob Bernard, Pitman High School

U.S. Senate Youth Delegate – Ranen Miao, Millburn High School

Milken Educator – Nicole Silva, Nathan Hale School, Carteret School District


All honorees with State Board of Education Members and Department of Education StaffAll honorees with State Board of Education Members and Department of Education Staff


Student Recognition Program


Picture of Burlinton County Honorees

Burlington County
Devin Torres
Thomas E. Barrington Middle School
Mount Laurel Township School District

 Camden County Honorees

Camden County
Spencer Levy
Cherry Hill High School East
Cherry Hill School District

 Cape May Honorees

Cape May County
Logan Thomas
 Middle Township High School
Middle Township School District

Hunterdon Honorees 

Hunterdon County
Unified Program
 Voorhees High School
North Hunterdon-Voorhees School District

Mercer Honorees 

Mercer County
Interact Volunteer Club
 Trenton Central High School
Trenton School District

Morris County Honorees 

Morris County
Kids Helping Kids
 Honover Park High School
Hanover Township School District

Passaic County Honorees 

Passaic County
Dream Mats Project Team
 Passaic Valley Regional High School
Passaic Valley Regional High School District

Salem County Honorees 

Salem County
Pride Diversity Leadership Group
 Penns Grove Middle School
Penns Grove-Carneys Point Regional School District

Sussex Honorees 

Sussex County
Designers, Craftsmen, Inventors Teams
 High Point Regional High School
High Point Regional High School District

Warren County Honorees 

Warren County
In Her Element Club
 Phillipsburg High School
Phillipsburg School District




U.S. Senate Youth Program, Jacob Bernard

U.S. Senate Youth Program
Jacob Bernard
 Pitman High School
Pitman School District

U.S. Senate Youth Program, Ranen Maio 

U.S. Senate Youth Program
Ranen Maio
 Millburn High School
Millburn Township School District

Milken Honoree, Nicole Silva

Milken Educator
Nicole Silva
 Nathan Hale School
Carteret School District

to top