You may transfer both your license and registration in one transaction by making an appointment for a transfer from out-of-state.
Make sure to bring* all required documents. (Same link en Español).
* Please visit the REAL ID webpage for “What to Bring” for REAL ID License or ID.
If you have recently moved to New Jersey, you must transfer your out-of-state license and vehicle title/registration within 60 days of your move or before your current license and vehicle registration expires, whichever occurs first.
We are required to capture a customer's full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin.If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.
If you are not a U.S. citizen and have recently moved to New Jersey, you can transfer your out-of-country license for a standard New Jersey license with the required documents (Español) or a Real ID with the required documents. Make an appointment for a transfer from out-of-state.
Visitors to the U.S. are permitted to drive up to one (1) year with their foreign license as long as it is accompanied by an International Driving Permit issued in your country of residence.
Thirty (30) days prior to the expiration of your International Driving Permit, drivers from the following countries may skip certain steps in the testing process. The following countries have reciprocity agreements with New Jersey:
The reciprocity agreements apply to applicants 18 years or older, and only for a non-commercial (class D) driver’s license.
Documents required to qualify under reciprocity agreements: must show a valid foreign license with translation, proof of identity, proof of NJ residency, proof of Social Security Number, verification of lawful presence in the U.S (12 month minimum). If all criteria are met applicants will be exempt from the requirement to take the knowledge and skills (road) tests.
Applicants from the Republic of China (Taiwan) are required to present a valid Taiwan resident certificate that is valid for at least six months from date of issue. Additionally, the foreign license must be accompanied by a current Verification of Certificate of Driver’s License from the Republic of China (Taiwan).
Applicants from the Republic of Korea are required to present their foreign license accompanied by a translation of the license and an Apostille or a notarial certificate (only if back of license is issued prior to 2019 and not in English) issued by the Consulate General of the Republic of Korea and a Certificate of Driver’s License (a document from Korea issued in English attesting to the fact that the applicant’s Korean license is in good standing).
If you do not currently have an out-of-state or New Jersey driver's license, you may obtain a non-driver identification (ID) card.
We are required to capture a customer's full face when taking a picture for a driver license or non-driver ID card; therefore we need to be able to see from the top of your forehead to the bottom of your chin. If you have a medical or religious need to wear a head covering in your photo, please advise the MVC staff at the agency camera station.
Under New Jersey law, you must transfer your vehicle title and registration (with or without a lien) within 60 days (120 days during a Public Health Emergency). To do this:
Titles without liens will be given to the customer (unless the mailing address is a P.O. Box, in which case the title is held for 10 days, then mailed to the customer) along with their license plates, registration card, and temporary inspection card.
Titles with liens and titles for leased vehicles will be mailed to the leasing company or lien holder. In this case the customer is given a title receipt, vehicle registration, license plates, and temporary
If you are transferring from a state that does not issue titles, refer to the guidelines for transfer.
To transfer a vehicle from out-of–country, refer to foreign vehicle instructions.