Window Sun-screening For Medical Reasons

You may have your vehicle windshield and/or front side windows tinted (sunscreened) in New Jersey with a medical exemption only. To apply for window sunscreening, please follow the steps outlined below: Please note: You may not have your windows sunscreened until you receive approval from NJMVC.

  • Step 1- Complete application “MVC Sunscreening 1” You may also request this application by e-mailing or by calling 609-984-2973. Follow all steps on page 2 of the application.
  • Step 2- Submit completed application with Step 4 filled out by your physician and a valid prescription to or:

Customer Advocacy Office
Attn: Sunscreening Exemption
PO Box 403
Trenton, NJ 08666-0403

  • Step 3- Wait to receive a temporary approval “MVC Sunscreening 2” valid for 60 days and a Sunscreening Installation Confirmation form “MVC Sunscreening 3” from the Customer Advocacy Office if you qualify for window sunscreening.
  • Step 4- Take your temporary approval form and Sunscreening Installation Confirmation page to a licensed Sunscreening facility (listed below). Have the licensed installer fill out and sign the Sunscreening Installation Confirmation page.
  • Step 5- Keep the temporary approval document in your vehicle at all times.
  • Step 6- Submit the MVC Installation Confirmation page to the Customer Advocacy Office using the e-mail or PO Box listed under Step 2.
  • Step 7- You will receive a permanent approval document “MVC Sunscreening 4” that is valid for 48 months to keep in your vehicle at all times. Please remember you will need to show this document whenever requested by law enforcement as well as for vehicle inspection purposes. As a courtesy, please roll down your windows if pulled over by law enforcement.
  • Step 8- Renew your Sunscreening document every 48 months using form “MVC Sunscreening 1”. 


For your convenience, the MVC maintains the following list of licensed tinting facilities:


Andy's Window Tint
705 Van Houten Avenue
Clifton, NJ 07013

Electronic Environment
747 Trumbull Ave       
Lawrenceville NJ  08648

Imagine Audio
304 Haddonfield Rd.
Cherry Hill, NJ 08002.
Tele# 856-488-1466.

JG Holdings of New Jersey, Inc.
2439 Route 33
Neptune, NJ 0775

Fabulous Auto Alarms, LLC
105 Columbia Ave
Passaic, NJ 07055

Richard E. Richie Enterprises Inc.
930 Lacey Road
POB 95
Forked River, NJ 08731
(609) 693- 07403

Top Shelf Automotive, LLC
1239 McCarter Hwy
Newark NJ 07104

Coastal Sound Shop Inc.
1102 New Road
Northfield, NJ 08225
(609) 646-6282

Shore Customs
1213 State Route 35 North
Ocean, New Jersey 07712
Phone: 732-988-5600
Fax: 732-676-7741