Skip to main navigationSkip to News Headlines
Global Navigation
Office of The Attorney General
The State of New Jersey Office of The Attorney General (Dept. of Law & Public Safety) The State of New Jersey NJ Home Services A to Z Departments/Agencies OAG Frequently Asked Questions
OAG Home
OAG Home OAG Contact
Division of Alcoholic Beverage Control
Division of Consumer Affairs
Division of Criminal Justice
Division on Civil Rights
Division of Gaming Enforcement
Division of Highway Traffic Safety
Division of Law
Juvenile Justice Commission
NJ Racing Commission
Race Track Locations
Race Dates
Rules & Regulations
Licensing Application Forms
Official Rulings
Division of NJ State Police
OPRA - Open Public Records Act
New Jersey Racing Commission
New Jersey Racing Commission
  Frequently Asked Questions  
  General | Licensing
 
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12

Question and Answers

1
How would you know if you needed to be fingerprinted and what is the cost?

The New Jersey Racing Commission requires all license's to be printed on a state card, cost for state card is $47.05. All individuals licensed who are involved with the horses are required to be printed on state and federal cards, cost for both cards $83.05. A state card is taken once a federal card is taken every 5 years cost of Federal card is $36.00.

top

2
Is it possible to be licensed in New Jersey for other Jurisdictions?

No, you must submit a copy of an application to each Jurisdiction separately.

top

3
Where should my completed application be mailed?

If mailing application forms I, II or III please mail to the Trenton address which is located at the top of each application. If mailing the Multiple Jurisdiction application send a copy to each jurisdiction you plan on racing along with the fees, see page 4 on Multiple Jurisdiction Application.

top

4
If I am licensed in another state is my license valid in New Jersey?

No.

top

5
When does my New Jersey Racing Commission license expire?

Your New Jersey Racing Commission license expires at the end of the calendar year (Jan. 1 - Dec. 31). The only exception is a 3 year Owner license Jan. 1 - Dec. 31, spanning 3 years.

top

6
Why does the New Jersey Racing Commission require me to keep getting printed?

Currently the New Jersey Racing Commission requires a federal fingerprint be taken every 5 years.

top

7
What exactly does "Multiple - Jurisdictional" License mean?

See Multiple - Jurisdictional Web site

top

8
What is the fee structure for licensing with the New Jersey Racing Commission?
  • Form I Owner 1 year $50.00
  • Owner 3 years $150.00
  • Trainer $50.00
  • Assistant Trainer $30.00
  • Driver $50.00
  • Driver/Trainer $50.00
  • Jockey $50.00
  • Jockey Apprentice $30.00
  • Jockey Agent $50.00
  • Stable Employee $5.00
  • C.I.D. $10.00
  • C.I.D. Vendor $10.00
  • Pari-mutuel $25.00
  • Veterinarian $50.00
  • Valet $20.00
  • Plater $20.00
  • Vendor $50.00
  • Form II Stable Name $50.00
  • Multiple Ownership $50.00
  • Corporate Stable Name $50.00
  • Partnership No Fee
  • Form III Authorized Agent $50.00

Multiple Jurisdiction - ARCI - see Web site for fee structure

top

9
Why do I have to fill out a license each year if I am already in the computer?

By law and the NJRC Rules & Regulations the NJRC has to issue licenses each year.

top

10
Can I race one time without a license?

No.

top

11
What are the hours for licensing?

Check with each licensing location for their hours of operation. Phone numbers and addresses are located in 'Licensing'.

top

12
Why do I need a Multiple Ownership License if each of the owners are licensed individually?

Multiple Ownership is a separate entity which requires a separate license.

top

 
     
OAG Home New Jersey Racing Commission Director
New Jersey Racing Commission Director's Biography
NJRC Home Contact NJRC
About NJRC Race Dates
NJRC Library Licensing/Permits...
NJRC Frequently Asked Questions Self Exclusion List
NJRC Rules and Regulations NJRC Services A-Z
Highlights
Commission Meetings Calendar
Off Track Wagering Facilities
NJ Account Wagering Partnership
Self Exclusion List Application
Affiliates and Links
Voter Registration / Registro Electora
NJ Sex Offender Registry
NJ Amber Alert Plan
Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
NJ Home Logo
Divisional: NJRC Home | Contact NJRC | About NJRC | Race Dates | Licensing | NJRC Library | FAQs

Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs

Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey
This page is maintained by OAG Communications. Comments/Questions: email or call 609-292-4925
OAG Home OAG Home more news noticias en español