Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer


NJ Tax E-News
May 2012 - Archived E-News Mailings

Date Areas of Interest Subject
05/15/2012 Tax Practitioners
and
Publications

NJ Tax E-News  05/15/12

Monthly Digest of new information posted on the Division of Taxation Web site April 14 - May 15, 2012.

View Monthly Digest
05/01/2012 Property Tax Relief Programs

NJ Tax E-News  05/01/12

The Division of Taxation has begun mailing applications for the 2011
Homestead Benefit. Applications will be mailed over the next three weeks to both senior (age 65 or older on December 31, 2011) and nonsenior homeowners. The deadline for filing these applications is June 30, 2012.

The Homestead Benefit application delivery dates by county are:

Gloucester, Mercer, Middlesex, Passaic - May 3
Cape May, Union - May 5
Atlantic, Essex, Monmouth, Sussex - May 8
Morris, Ocean - May 10
Camden, Hudson, Hunterdon, Salem, Somerset - May 12
Bergen, Burlington, Cumberland, Warren - May 15

Because this year's proposed State Budget limits eligibility for
senior/disabled homeowners to those with New Jersey gross income of
$150,000 or less, and for nonsenior/nondisabled homeowners to those with New Jersey gross income of $75,000 or less, many homeowners will not receive applications.

Most eligible homeowners will receive their Homestead Benefit for 2011 as a credit on a future property tax bill instead of receiving a rebate check (or direct deposit). These homeowners can expect to receive a revised property tax bill or advice copy from their tax collector that will reflect the amount of the benefit. Those homeowners who indicate when filing that they no longer own the property or those whose principal residence was a unit in a co-op or continuing care retirement community, will have their benefit issued in the form of a check (or direct deposit).

With very few exceptions, homeowner benefit applications must be filed over the Internet or by phone. The answers to most questions can be found in the application packet. Homeowners who receive a packet should read it carefully, and if they meet the eligibility requirements, complete the worksheet in the packet prior to filing. Homeowners who have already sold the home that was their principal residence on October 1, 2011, or who plan to sell should pay particular attention to the packet instructions regarding sale of property to ensure they complete their applications correctly.

View Information on the 2011 Homestead Benefit.

The homeowner benefit Internet filing application on the Division of Taxation Web site and automated telephone filing system (1-877-658-2972) will be available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week during the filing period. Homeowners who have questions or need help filing their applications can call the Homestead Benefit Hotline at 1-888-238-1233. Representatives are available from 8:30 a.m. until 5:30 p.m., Monday through Friday, except holidays.



Archived E-News Mailings

Last Updated: Thursday, 08/21/14




Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification