skip to main content skip to main navigation
Photo of Angelo Trapani, Shirley Kline and Erick Doyle - Click to enlarge
Kline, Trapani Sworn in to 4-year terms, Doyle Fills Vacant Seat

For Immediate Release: August 27, 2015
Contact: Lynne Richmond            
(609) 633-2954 

(TRENTON) – Cumberland County fruit and vegetable farmer Shirley Todd Kline, Monmouth County beekeeper and mum producer Angelo Trapani and Hunterdon County livestock and hay producer Erick K. Doyle are the newest members of the New Jersey State Board of Agriculture. 

The New Jersey State Board of Agriculture installed Kline and Trapani to four-year terms on July 22 during its reorganization meeting held in Hamilton Township.  Doyle was installed at the Board’s regular meeting in Trenton on August 26 to fill an unexpired term ending in 2017.

Kline, Trapani and Doyle were elected by the delegates at the February 2015 State Agricultural Convention for recommendation to the Governor for nomination and later confirmed by the State Senate. 

“Shirley Kline, Angelo Trapani and Erick Doyle are great additions to the State Board of Agriculture, demonstrating the diversity of New Jersey’s agriculture industry,” said New Jersey Secretary of Agriculture Douglas H. Fisher.  “They bring their vast knowledge and experience to the board, which sets policy for the industry throughout the entire state.”

Shirley Kline earned Bachelor of Science in plant pathology and Masters of Science degree in vegetable production from Cornell University.  She operates Happy Valley Berry Farm in Bridgeton growing mixed vegetables and fresh market raspberries, blackberries and strawberries.  She offers Community Supported Agriculture and sells wholesale to farm markets and food co-ops.  She is a food safety consultant and horticulturist.  Kline is the past-President of the Cumberland County Board of Agriculture, a New Jersey Farm Bureau director and a member of the Vegetable Growers Association of New Jersey and the Cumberland County Historical Society.

Angelo Trapani operates A. Trapani Farms and Trapper’s Honey in Clarksburg, producing honey and providing pollination services to other farmers.  He and his wife, Anna, also grow field mums.  Angelo studied engineering at Mercer County Community College and HVAC at Mercer County Technical School.  He is currently president of the Monmouth County Board of Agriculture, first-Vice President of the New Jersey Beekeepers Association and a New Jersey Farm Bureau alternate director.  He is a member of the New Jersey Vegetable Growers Association, Central jersey Beekeepers, Tri-County Co-op Market, NJ Farmers Director Marketing Association, American Honey Producers Association, American Beekeeping Federation and the New Jersey Agricultural Society.

Erick Doyle, who owns Readington River Buffalo Company in Readington, earned a Bachelor of Arts in mathematics from Colgate University.  He manages a heard of bison ranging from 90 to 150 head on 110 acres of pasture.  He oversees breeding, nutrition, vaccination and transportation.  He manages an on-site retail operation with the meat raised on the farm and locally sourced agricultural products.  He also produces 200 acres of hay per year to feed the herd and to supplement neighboring farmers.  Doyle also hosts Rutgers University students in an annual practicum to teach proper handling methods of large animals. He is currently second vice-president of the Hunterdon County Board of Agriculture, a 2009 graduate of the New Jersey Agricultural Leadership Development Program, a Sunday school instructor and an Eagle Scout.

During the reorganization meeting, Martin Bullock, a Cream Ridge hay, grain and Christmas tree farmer, was elected President of the board and Marilyn Russo, a Chesterfield fruit and vegetable farmer, was selected as vice-president.  In addition, Steve Wagner, who represented the nursery industry, resigned and Robert Swanekamp, a grower of plugs and bedding plants in Upper Freehold Township, was chosen to fill the open seat. 

The State Board of Agriculture comprises eight members who serve for four years, with two members being replaced each year. By law, at least four of its members must represent the top commodity groups in the state.  Members serve without salary.  For more information, visit