New Jersey Department of Education

Pathways to a High School Diploma

There are three high school equivalency tests approved by the United States Department of Education and the NJ State Board of Education. They are the GED and HiSET. Both tests are aligned to federal Career and College Readiness Standards and designed to measure skills and concepts associated with four years of regular high school instruction. Each test is developed by adult and secondary educators and subject matter specialists. Each of the tests corresponds to the general framework of most high school curricula: writing skills, social studies, science, interpreting literature and the arts, and mathematics.

December 22, 2016, the following have been determined qualified Vendors to be a Test Provider for the New Jersey Department of Education’s (NJDOE’s) List of Approved High School Equivalency Assessments, and their firms’ Assessment Tests are approved for use in NJDOE’s approved Test Centers:

GED Testing Service, LLC, Washington, DC
Educational Testing Service, Princeton, NJ

to top