New Jersey Department of Education

ACCESS for English Language Learners (ELLs)

New Jersey, as a member of the WIDA Consortium, uses the ACCESS for ELLs suite of assessments as a tool to measure English Language Learners (ELLs) proficiency in the English language. Students are assessed in four domains: Speaking, Listening, Reading, and Writing.

The New Jersey ACCESS for ELLs suite of assessments includes:

  • ACCESS for ELLs
  • Kindergarten ACCESS for ELLs
  • Alternate ACCESS for ELLs (For students with the most significant intellectual disabilities)

For the most updated information on the ACCESS assessments, please visit the New Jersey WIDA state page.

Technical Reports

to top