The State Ethics Commission was created in 1973 to administer and enforce the New Jersey Conflicts of Interest Law, N.J.S.A. 52:13D-12 et seq. The Commission also administers and enforces several sections of the Casino Control Act, N.J.S.A. 5:12-1 et seq., and has administrative authority granted by the Governor by Executive Orders 189 (Kean, 1989), 41 (Codey, 2005), 68 (Codey, 2005), 14 (Corzine, 2005), and 64 (Christie, 2011), and 2 (Murphy,2018).

The Commission consists of four public members, not more than two of whom shall be of the same political party, and three Executive Branch employees appointed by the Governor. Executive Branch members serve at the pleasure of the Governor during the term of the Governor appointing the member and until the member's successor is appointed and qualified. Public members serve for staggered terms of four years and until the appointment and qualification of their successors. The Governor designates one public member to serve as chairman and one member to serve as vice-chairman of the Commission.

The Commission has the power to undertake investigations and hold hearings regarding alleged violations of the Conflicts Law. The Commission also issues advisory opinions concerning whether a given set of facts and circumstances would, in the Commission's opinion, constitute possible violations of the Conflicts Law or any code, rules or regulations promulgated pursuant thereto.

Commission meetings are held on a monthly basis.




Last updated: January 18, 2018