Skip to main content

Governor Phil Murphy

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Snapchat

Governor Murphy Announces over a Dozen New Appointments to New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education


TRENTON – Governor Phil Murphy today announced the appointments of 18 new members to the New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education. 

“I am proud to announce these appointments to the New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education,” said Governor Murphy. “Since its founding, the Commission has established New Jersey as a leader in Holocaust Education. The Commission’s efforts are very important in ensuring that the horrors of the Holocaust, and the incitements and hatred that fostered the environment in which it was allowed to happen, are never forgotten.”

The Commission was established in 1981 by then-Governor Thomas Kean with a core mission to design, encourage and promote the implementation of Holocaust and genocide education and awareness, provide programs in New Jersey and coordinate designated events that will provide appropriate memorialization of the Holocaust on a regular basis. Additionally, the Commission seeks to assist and advise both public and private schools and meet with county and local officials to assist with planning courses of study on the Holocaust.

The New Jersey Commission on Holocaust Education and its 31 Holocaust Resource Centers are continuously hosting programs to educate about the Holocaust, genocide and human rights. All events are posted on the calendar on the Commission’s website.

The new appointments represent a diverse group of individuals who have demonstrated leadership, care and expertise in the field of Holocaust education. 


  • Mr. Philip Kirschner Esq. 
  • Franklin Stebbins
  • Jaclyn Jones
  • Mr. Igor Abraham Kotler
  • Mr. Marvin Raab
  • Michelle Myers
  • Irvin O. Moreno-Rodriguez
  • Emil “Yitz” Stern
  • Shana Stein
  • Rabbi Yaakov Glasser
  • Peter Schild, Ed.D.
  • Ilyse Muser Shainbrown
  • Abraham Foxman
  • Mrs. Colleen Tambuscio
  • Gene William Woods
  • Tamara Beatty
  • Ms. Dina L. Cohen
  • Judith N. Olesh