OPRA’s 25 Exemptions From Disclosure

The Open Public Records Act ("OPRA") provides that government records must be made readily accessible for inspection, copying, or examination by records requestors, with certain exceptions.  OPRA includes twenty-seven (27) specific exemptions from disclosure within its many provisions. 

If a records custodian is unable to comply with a request for access, the custodian must indicate the specific basis in writing.   

Click here for a list of government records or information exempt from disclosure which should not be provided to requestors of government records.