New Jersey homeowners and renters who had property damage or loss caused by remnants of Hurricane Ida in September have until Wednesday, January 5th to apply for federal disaster assistance. If you live in Bergen, Essex, Gloucester, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Morris, Passaic, Somerset, Union, or Warren counties, you can register for disaster assistance. Federal disaster assistance for individuals and families can include money for rental assistance, essential home repairs, personal property losses, and other serious disaster-related needs not covered by insurance. You should have the following information available when you are ready to register:
- A description of disaster damage and losses
- Address of the damaged primary dwelling
- Current mailing address, telephone number, and Social Security number
- Insurance information
- Total household annual income
- Routing and account numbers for checking or savings accounts for direct deposit
If you are unable to apply online, you can also call 1-800-621-3362 from 7 am to 1 am daily or visit a FEMA Disaster Recovery Center near you. Disaster Recovery Centers in Essex and Union counties will remain open until further notice:
- Kmart (Co-located with a Vaccination Center), 235 Prospect Ave. #9413, West Orange
- O’Donnell Dempsey Senior Community Center, 618 Salem Ave., Elizabeth
Division of Consumer Affairs
Disaster-related scams take many forms, including exorbitant cost increases on essential goods and services in high demand after a crisis – a practice known as price gouging; unconscionable business practices in post-disaster clean up and repairs of homes and property; and phony charities purportedly set up to raise money for disaster victims. Learn more about how to avoid disaster-related scams
Report excessive price increases or other disaster-related scams to the Division of Consumer Affairs here or call (973) 504-6240.
Leave your name, contact info, nature of the complaint and the name and address of the business.
Economic Development Authority
New Jersey’s law against price gouging is now in effect. This law prohibits excessive price increases during a declared State of Emergency and for 30 days after its termination. An excessive price increase is any price that exceeds 10 percent of the price the product or service was sold during the normal course of business prior to the State of Emergency. Learn more
Department of HealthThe New Jersey Department of Health has compiled resources on staying safe and healthy during recovery from Tropical Storm Ida. New Jerseyans should take steps to protect themselves from environmental hazards, mold, and carbon monoxide poisoning, and ensure food safety. Learn more
Department of Environmental Protection
Storm debris cleanup and recovery is an ongoing effort. The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection has made additional resources and guidance available during recovery.
Department of Banking and Insurance
The New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance has released guidance on filing a homeowners insurance or auto insurance claim for storm-related damage, as well as information about flood insurance. Learn more