Back to Cardiac & Acute Stroke Services

Submitting Stroke Data to the NJASR On Hold

The New Jersey Acute Stroke Registry (NJASR) has temporarily stopped receiving stroke data from New Jersey Hospitals until further notice.

Acute Stroke Services

The New Jersey Department of Health designates general hospitals that meet certain standards as either Primary or Comprehensive Stroke Centers, as mandated by the Stroke Center Act of 2004.

Chapter 476, which was passed on January 21, 2020, updates the 2004 law, and requires all New Jersey hospitals that specialize in stroke care meet new standards of care, as outlined in the new legislation.  While the two stroke designations, Primary and Comprehensive, will remain, the legislation has added two new categories of stroke facilities, Acute Stroke Ready Hospitals (ASRH) and Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Centers (TSC).  All hospitals designated as stroke centers are required to meet national standards, obtain certificaton and create formal transfer agreements to work together to coordinate patient care.

Primary Stroke Centers
Comprehensive Stroke Centers
Thrombectomy-Capable Stroke Center (TSC)
Acute Stroke Ready Hospital (ASRH)
Summary Stroke Statistics
Last Reviewed: 9/12/2023