PO Box 360
Trenton, NJ 08625-0360

For Release:
February 11, 2019

Shereef Elnahal

For Further Information Contact:
Office of Communications
(609) 984-7160

Statement from NJDOH Commissioner Dr. Shereef Elnahal On CDC Report on Youth E-Cigarette and Tobacco Use Rising

“To curb the increasing use of JUUL and other e-cigarette products among New Jersey middle and high school students, the Department of Health is investing $7 million in a youth education campaign and 'Youth Action Teams' that are developing social media messages to prevent peers from using these addictive products,” said Health Commissioner Dr. Shereef Elnahal.

Part of the $7 million is also being used to fund 11 regional “quit centers” in a dozen counties with the highest incident of cancers and tobacco related diseases: Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland, Essex, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, Union, Passaic, and Salem. 

As part of the funding, NJ Quitline (1-866-657-8677), a telephone-counseling service, will implement electronic referrals for smokers who want to quit.

The “2016 New Jersey Youth Tobacco Survey” of public high school students in the 2016-17 school year found e-cigarettes had become the most common nicotine or tobacco product in use among this group. 

About 21 percent said they had tried e-cigarettes, compared with 17.4 percent for cigarettes, 17.2 percent for cigars and 15.9 percent for hookah pipe tobacco. Overall, 39 percent said they had tried a tobacco product and 16.8 percent said they were regular users.

New Jersey has taken strong steps to protect the public from the harmful effects of tobacco.

New Jersey raised the minimum age to buy tobacco products from 19 to 21 in November 2017. The law covered the sale of all tobacco products, including e-cigarettes and other electronic smoking products. In 2006, New Jersey became the 11th state to pass the Smoke Free Air Act prohibiting smoking in public buildings. In 2010, it became the first state to add electronic tobacco products to that law.

In July, Gov. Phil Murphy signed a law banning smoking at public beaches and parks. That same month, new steps were announced to help New Jersey Medicaid recipients quit by making it easier to receive tobacco cessation medications and counseling. Medicaid will remove the requirement that individuals need prior approval from their health plan before they obtain tobacco cessation medications. In January, Medicaid will add group counseling for tobacco cessation to services it covers.

To learn more about e-cigarette and tobacco use among yout,h please visit https://www.cdc.gov/vitalsigns/youth-tobacco-use/.

Follow New Jersey Health Commissioner Elnahal on Twitter.

Follow the New Jersey Department of Health on Twitter @njdeptofhealth, Facebook /njdeptofhealth, Instagram @njdeptofhealth and Snapchat @njdoh.

Last Reviewed: 2/11/2019