New Diesel Emissions Testing Program Begins
A new inspection program which requires annual diesel emissions testing of all heavy-duty trucks based in New Jersey began today, officials announced.
The annual diesel emissions test will be performed on all New Jersey-registered vehicles with a Gross Vehicle Weight Rating (GVWR) of 18,000 pounds or more. More than 125 Diesel Emissions Inspection Centers (DEICs) have been licensed to date to perform the diesel emissions test. Additional applications are under review and more licenses are expected to be issued.
The annual inspection process is in addition to random roadside emissions tests on both New Jersey-registered and out-of-state trucks which began penalty enforcement in April.
From April 1 through June 15, roadside emissions inspection teams stopped 32,044 vehicles. Of this total, 27,043 vehicles were released after passing a visual pre-screening process. The remaining 5,001 vehicles were given the emissions test after inspectors observed dirty exhausts.
Of the 5,001 vehicles tested, 2,640 passed the emissions test and 2,361 failed. Upon failing to pass the emissions test, vehicle owners were issued summonses. The first offense fine for failing the emissions test is $700, with the fine reduced to $150 upon proof that the vehicle has been repaired. The second offense fine is $1,300, reducible to $500.