text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver

The Civil Service Commission is an unbiased, independent body that hears and rules on appeals filed by State, county and municipal civil service employees, candidates for employment, and appointing authorities. The CSC provides a forum for appeals to be heard, and fair and impartial decisions to be rendered.

The Civil Service Commission is a five member, bipartisan, public body chaired by the CSC Acting Chair/Chief Executive Officer, Allison Chris Myers. Joining the Chair are four part-time members, each appointed to a four-year term by the Governor with the consent of the State Senate.


The Current Members of the Civil Service Commission are
  • Rendering decisions on appeals
  • Interpreting Civil Service rules
  • Amending rules and adopting new rules (after publication in the New Jersey Register for comment)
  • Enforcing decisions

The Civil Service Commission holds meetings twice monthly its location in Trenton.

The Civil Service Commission is located at: 
Boardroom, First Floor
44 S. Clinton Avenue
Trenton, NJ 08609

For issues involving appeals, hearings and other Division of Appeals and Regulatory Affairs matters, use:

Mailing Address:
New Jersey Civil Service Commission
P.O. Box 312
Trenton, NJ 08625-0312

Phone:  609-292-4144

Meetings start at 10:00 A.M.

For a calendar of scheduled meetings, please click here

To send general correspondence to the Commission, please use this mailing address: P.O. Box 317, Trenton, NJ 08625-0317.


OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2021