text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
 
 

Scheduled Date: 

Tuesday, October 26, 2021

Wednesday, October 27, 2021  

 

Location:

Virtual training available via the LMS

State Government

Cost per Person:
$279

Pre-Requisite: None

Class Time: 9:00am - 12:00pm

Length: 3 hours, two day course

 

Course Description

Title 4A of the New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) contains the rules that govern the Civil Service for public employment in New Jersey. This two-day class is designed to provide State government employee participants with an in-depth review of Title 4A rules, relevant laws, and critical information about their direct applications in New Jersey State government workplaces.

This course is part of the Civil Service Commission's Human Resource (HR) Horizons program, but can also be offered as a stand-alone course.

 

Learning Objectives:

  • Explain how the rules in Title 4A relate to:

    a) The NJ State Constitution

    b) The Civil Service Act

    c) Departmental Policies

    d) The US Constitution

    e) Federal Statutes

    f) Other NJ Statutes

    g) Relevant case law
  • Define the distinction(s) between a rule change and the relaxation of a rule
  • Explain the purpose, scope, and applicability of Title 4A rules
  • Explain the system for determining salary ranges for each job
  • Explain distinctions between the various leaves of absence covered by 4A: 6-1.2 to 6-1.10
  • Correctly use the rules to answer specific questions in a case study on selection and appointment
  • Describe the requirements for completion of a working test period
  • Describe what the rules require for employee performance evaluation and development in accordance with 4A: 6-5.2
 
 
Registration

Learning Management System Users:  Please login into your Learning Management System account and navigate to “Now Enrolling” from the “Browse” drop-down menu.  Select the training you wish to register for and click “Enroll.” This will initiate the required approval process.   

External participants, can click here to complete the HR-1 Training Authorization Form. Your direct supervisor, departmental training coordinator, and fiscal officer must approve the form. HR-1's received without proper approval will be returned to the Department's Training Coordinator.

Please note: You are not scheduled for the requested classroom training until you receive an official email confirmation from CLIP.

If you have any questions about the program or the registration process, you can reach a customer success representative by calling (609) 777-2225 or emailing CLIPTraining.Support@csc.nj.gov. 

A $20 administrative  fee will apply to learners who do not have Learning Management System (LMS) platform accounts.

Training Authorization Form

 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2021