The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
Search


 
Home > NJ Real Estate Commission
New Jersey Real Estate Commission
E-mail general questions to: realestate@dobi.nj.gov

Established in 1921, the New Jersey Real Estate Commission (REC), a division of the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance, was created to administer and enforce New Jersey's real estate licensing law, N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 et seq.

The REC issues licenses to real estate brokers and salespersons, real estate schools, and course instructors, as well as establishes standards of practice for the real estate brokerage profession. It also regulates and registers out-of-state sales through New Jersey brokers.

  NJ Real Estate Commission
Real Estate Commission Meeting Schedule Real Estate Commission Meeting Schedule
Print Your New Jersey Real Estate License Print Your New Jersey Real Estate License
 
2019-2021 License Cycle: Updated Continuing Education Requirements NEW

The Fair Housing Continuing Education (CE) requirement has been implemented and is now required for the current 2019 – 2021 license cycle. All individual licensees (except Salespersons Referral) must complete a minimum of 1 Hour of Fair Housing in the Core category in order to fulfill their CE requirements.

The REC is providing extension dates for the regular deadlines during this renewal cycle. The late CE processing fee deadline of April 30, 2021 will be extended to May 31, 2021 and the Licensing Renewal Cycle deadline of June 30, 2021 will be extended to July 19, 2021.

Currently, the PSI CE Data Tracking system is being updated. Thus, all licensees should check to ensure compliance with CE when the renewal system opens.

Continue to check the website frequently for details and updates.

 
Online Submission of Original Applications - Salespersons and Brokersalespersons NEW
 
Recent Bulletins
 
Important Licensee Information Regarding Housing Discrimination Laws

Attorney General Gurbir S. Grewal has updated the Letter to Property Owners concerning housing discrimination.  It is required by N.J.A.C. 11:5-6.4(j) that real estate licensees supply a property owner with this letter, when accepting a listing of property for sale or rental.

 
 
Continuing Education (CE) for Salesperson Licensed With Real Estate Referral Company (formerly known as the Referral Agent)
ALL NJ REFERRAL AGENT (RA) APPROACHING YOUR 6 YEAR ANNIVERSARY DATE
(Which RA profile below describes you?)
RA TO RETURN TO ACTIVE SALES

REMAIN AS RA

ALREADY CHANGED LICENSE TYPE

1.) Verify your 6-year RA Anniversary Date (mm/dd/yyyy)

NOTE: If exact date not known, contact NJREC at (609) 292-7272

Do nothing.  CE is not currently required for RA’s.

As a full-time licensee, complete all CE, required for license renewal, by 04/30/2019.

2.) Complete required CE to change license type. See CE RA chart for CE amounts to be
completed.

NOTE: Use CE types Core or Ethics only

 

 

3.) Work with Broker of Record (BOR) only to change (on-line) RA to active Salesperson (SP) or Broker (BR) license type.

NOTE: BOR cannot change license type until CE Provider/Instructor loads CE in PSI/NJREC CE database then wait another 24 hours to be loaded into NJREC Licensing database.

 

 

4.) Full-time licensee can change license type back to RA after 48 hours, if desired.

 

 

Hot Topics for Licensees
Other Important Information  
  • Bulletin 13-19: Printing or Downloading of Real Estate Licenses and Guidance on Pocket Card Requirements
  • Bulletin 13-05: Comparative Market Analyses and Broker Price Opinions
 
 
About the Commission
 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance