Healthy New Jersey

About Us

Public Health in Action

The 10 Essential Public Health Services provide a framework for public health to protect and promote the health of all people in all communities. NJDOH uses the 10 Essential Public Health Services as a roadmap to ensure equity in care and improve the health of every New Jerseyan.

To achieve equity, the Essential Public Health Services actively promote policies, systems, and overall community conditions that enable optimal health for all and seek to remove systemic and structural barriers that have resulted in health inequities.

Such barriers include poverty, racism, gender discrimination, ableism, and other forms of oppression. Everyone should have a fair and just opportunity to achieve optimal health and well-being.

The 10 Essential Public Health Services

  1. Assess and monitor population health
  2. Investigate, diagnose, and address health hazards and root causes
  3. Communicate effectively to inform and educate
  4. Strengthen, support, and mobilize communities and partnerships
  5. Create, champion, and implement policies, plans, and laws
  6. Utilize legal and regulatory actions
  7. Enable equitable access
  8. Build a diverse and skilled workforce
  9. Improve and innovate through evaluation, research, and quality improvement
  10. Build and maintain a strong organizational infrastructure for public health

Development of the 10 Essential Public Health Services

The 10 Essential Public Health Services were developed by a federal working group in 1994. A revised version was released on September 9, 2020, as a result of a collaborative effort by the Public Health National Center for Innovations (PHNCI)   and the de Beaumont Foundation  .

to top