Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
Parks Home | DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 

Pet Friendly Camping Program

NJ State Parks Pet Friendly Camping

The New Jersey State Park Service is once again welcoming pets and their owners to select campgrounds within the NJ State parks/forests. There will be an additional charge of $5.00 per night to utilize a pet friendly campsite.

Designated Pet Friendly Campsites:

Allaire State Park

Family campsites #1-8

Bass River State Forest:
Sites 1-85.
Belleplain State Forest: All tent sites in the Meisle Field camping area and the CCC camping area
Brendan T Byrne State Forest: Family campsites 14 through 82
Cheesequake State Park: Family campsites #23-27 and #37-40
  High Point State Park: Family campsites: 1-7, 15-50
  Jenny Jump State Forest: Family campsites 27, 28, 29, 34, 35, and 36.
  Parvin State Park: Family campsites 45 through 56
  Round Valley Recreation Area: All campsites
  Stephens State Park: Family campsites #30-41
  Stokes State Forest: Family campsites #101-137
  Swartswood State Park: Family campsites #42-45
  Wawayanda State Park: All 4 Group sites
  Wharton State Forest: Atsion Family campsites 26 through 34, Godfrey Bridge, Goshen Pond, Buttonwood Hill, Lower Forge Camp and Batona Camp

Guidelines for Camping with Your Pets
Paw Bullet
Responsible ownership is the key!

What to know before you go.
Paw Bullet
Pet friendly camping is limited to domestic dogs and cats, with a maximum of two pets per camping permit. Camping with pets
Paw Bullet
Permittees need to fill out a Pet Registration and Certification form during the check-in process which will be retained in the area files.
Paw Bullet
Dogs and cats must have current rabies vaccinations. Written proof of the pet’s current rabies vaccine, and license displayed. (if a license is required by the resident’s State) must be provided during the check-in process.
Paw Bullet

Caged pets (birds, reptiles or amphibians) are permitted within the confines of a camping recreational vehicle (trailer or motor home).

Paw Bullet
Pets are prohibited from all buildings, swimming beaches and swimming waters, non-designated pet friendly campsites and overnight facilities.
Paw Bullet
Park or forest staff will advise patrons what sites may have pets.

Your pet’s behavior is your responsibility.
Paw Bullet

Pets must be kept on a leash six (6) feet or less in length and under physical control of its handler at all times.

Dog on a leash
Paw Bullet
Pets shall not be left unattended on the campsite, except when the permittee is using a restroom or visiting a park building for a brief period of time. When doing so, the pet must be kept in a camping unit or vehicle, weather conditions permitting.
Paw Bullet
The permittee is responsible for their pet’s behavior. Barking or other excessive pet noise that is unduly annoying to others must be controlled. The designated campground quiet hours between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. is expected to be observed by all visitors.
Paw Bullet
Any injuries must be immediately reported to the State Park Police or to the 24-hour DEP HOTLINE at (877) 927-6337.
Paw Bullet
Local animal control officers will be contacted to address pets suspected of being abandoned or neglected. The permittee is responsible for any costs associated with animal control services.

Clean up after your pet.
Paw Bullet
The permittee is responsible for immediate and sanitary disposal of the pet’s waste.
Paw Bullet
Pet food must not remain outside of a camping unit or vehicle because it will attract wildlife.
Paw Bullet
Pet washing at potable water sources or natural waterways (i.e. lakes, rivers, streams) is prohibited.

Violators of these guidelines are subject to permit revocation and eviction from the premises.

Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright State of New Jersey, 1996-2021

Last Updated: August 24, 2020