Governor Phil Murphy • Lt.Governor Sheila Oliver
new jersey department of environmental protection
NJ Home Page Services A to Z NJ FAQs NJ Departments/Agencies departments
site remediation program

SRP Home | DEP Home

SRRAListserv ArchivesMessage


Site Remediation Reform Act (SRRA) Listserv Archives
June 21, 2022 - [EXTERNAL]: Exam for Subsurface Evaluation Certification Now Available!

From: NJ Department of Environmental Protection
Date & Time: 6/21/2022 2:59:00 PM
Subject [EXTERNAL]: Exam for Subsurface Evaluation Certification Now Available!

[EXTERNAL]: Exam for Subsurface Evaluation Certification Now Available!

In order to qualify for a Unregulated Heating Oil Subsurface Evaluator certification, you must complete the Individual-UHOT-Application-in-use.pdf (

Pursuant to N.J.A.C 7:14B-16, applicants must:

  • Possess a bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in a natural (earth, biological, or environmental), physical, or chemical science or appropriate engineering discipline;
  • Have either a minimum of two years of experience performing subsurface evaluation services with participation in at least five subsurface evaluation services performed during each year of experience (within the last 3 years) or nine months experience with participation in at least 25 subsurface evaluations in that nine-month period (within the last year);
  • Have completed the appropriate health and safety training given in accordance with the United States Environmental Protection Agency's Standard Operating Safety Guides (Hazardous Materials Incident Response Operations Course (165.5)) and the United States Department of Labor's Occupational Safety and Health Administration's Safety and Health Standards (29 CFR 1910 and 1926 et seq.); and
  • Complete an approved recertification class (either 12 months prior or within 12 months of the initial license being issued). Individuals who are adding SSE as a category to an already effective license do not need to take another class in addition to that which will be taken for their license renewal.

Applicants will be given 30 days to complete the exam after application review. After completing the exam, the applicant will be provided with their exam results and will be responsible for reporting the results to the NJDEP UST Licensing Unit.

The NJDEP Certified Subsurface Evaluator exam is administered online by Rutgers Office of Continuing Professional Education. The registration fee for the exam is $100 per person. For more information and to register, visit:

Once the individual is licensed, the firm should update the firm certificate (if not already licensed in the SSE category). The firm modification application is available at:

Potential applicants may contact the NJDEP's UST Licensing Unit with any questions about qualifications or certification eligibility at (609) 633-1205.

The New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection is dedicated to protecting New Jersey's environment and public health. The agency prioritizes addressing climate change, protecting New Jersey's water, revitalizing its communities and managing and promoting its natural and historic resources.

For the most recent information, follow the DEP on Twitter @NewJerseyDEP, Facebook @newjerseydep, Instagram @nj.dep, and LinkedIn @newjerseydep, or visit