Skip to main content
Department of State

New Jersey Historical Commission

The Hon. Tahesha Way, Secretary
Fife Drummer

About The Historical Commission

New Jersey’s people and varied resources have helped shape the mid-Atlantic region, the Nation, and the world for more than 350 years. Its notable diversity of inhabitants was evident from its beginning in 1664. Due in no small part to its location, it has seen all the great themes of the Nation’s history play out within its borders. Its pivotal role during the American Revolution and early industrialization, and continuing legacy of technological innovation, distinguish it in the historical record. For these and many other reasons, the study of New Jersey history is both engaging and relevant to the state’s residents and visitors



The New Jersey Historical Commission (NJHC) is a state agency dedicated to the advancement of public knowledge and preservation of New Jersey history. Established by law in 1967, its work is founded on the fundamental belief that an understanding of our shared heritage is essential to sustaining a cohesive and robust democracy.

The NJHC receives its funding primarily by legislative appropriation. It fulfills its mission through various initiatives, as well as an active grant program. The goal of the grant program is to engage diverse audiences and practitioners in the active exploration, enjoyment, interpretation, understanding, and preservation of New Jersey history. In addition to other awards and prizes, the NJHC offers a free archival evaluation service called Caucus Archival Projects Evaluation Service (CAPES).


Commission Members

Maxine Lurie, Ph.D., Chair
Margaret Westfield, R.A.Vice-Chair

Senator Christopher Bateman
Jayne S. Carmody
Assemblyman Michael Patrick Carroll
Susan P. Coen
Assemblyman Craig Coughlin
Larry Greene, Ph.D.
Richard Veit, Ph.D.
Senator Loretta Weinberg
B. Michael Zuckerman, Ph.D.

ex-officio members
Tahesha Way, Secretary of State-designee
State Librarian Mary Chute
Katherine Marcopul, Ph.D.


Staff Contact List

Sara Cureton, Executive Director

Janet Field, Office Manager

Shawn Crisafulli, Chief Grants Officer

Greer Luce, Chief Communications Officer

Niquole Primiani, Chief Programs Officer

Madeleine Rosenberg, Chief Public Historian

Main Number: 609-292-6062



to top