The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance
search  

 

 
Home > Insurance Division > Property and Casualty
Property and Casualty
 Sections    Additional Information  
     
 
 Insurer Contact Information

The Property and Casualty Section of the Department of Banking and Insurance is charged with the regulation of rates, rules and forms for property and casualty insurance. The section regulates personal, commercial and title insurance sold in the state.

The rate and rule review process ensures that companies charge rates which are adequate to pay claims while not being excessive. The policy form review guarantees that the policy forms comply with statutes, regulations and departmental guidelines.

The section does not quote or sell personal, commercial or title insurance to the public.

Information for All Lines
  • Notice to Policyholders of Consumer Rate Increases (Per N.J.A.C. 11:1-45.1) - Notices must be sent to policyholders and the Division of Rate Counsel must be copied on all prior approval increases over 7% or when an insurer has filed for one or more prior approval rate filing(s) for implementation within a 12 month period and the impact of the filing(s) is a combined overall increase of more than seven percent. Please Note: The Division of Rate Counsel requires paper copies of these filings.

    Please note the new address for the Division of the Rate Counsel is as follows:

    Mailing Address:
    The Division of Rate Counsel
    140 E. Front St., 4th Floor
    P.O. Box 003
    Trenton, NJ 08625
  • Exemptions - There exists certain commercial lines which are exempt from the Department of Banking and Insurance filing requirements. These items are contained on the Commissioner's Special Risks List and the Commissioner's Exportable List, N.J.A.C. 11:1-34.6. Each year end, a hearing is held to discuss the exportable list contents. Additions and/or deletions to the list occur as a result of these annual hearings.
 
System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing (SERFF)


Effective January 1, 2009
the Office of Property and Casualty, and the Office of Solvency Regulation will no longer accept any personal or commercial lines rate, rule and forms filings submitted to the Department other than through SERFF in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:1-2.1. Any property and casualty, and purchasing group paper filings received after December 31, 2008 will be closed and returned to the company without review.

Insurers, rating organizations, and authorized filers may sign up to use the SERFF system by contacting the SERFF marketing team at serffmktg@naic.org.

For property/casualty SERFF information in New Jersey contact Gary Joy or Mark Nussenfeld.


System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing (SERFF)
   
top of page
 
Commercial Automobile


All commercial motor vehicles registered or principally garaged in New Jersey are mandated by law to maintain automobile liability insurance, N.J.S.A. 39:6B et seq. Commercial auto coverage may be obtained on a voluntary basis or through a licensed producer certified by the New Jersey Auto Insurance Plan.

Commercial automobile voluntary submissions are subject to the Deregulation Act of 1982, N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-1 et seq.

Rate/rule submissions are subject to N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-5 and N.J.A.C. 11:13-8.1, Use and File within 30 days. Form submissions are subject to N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-6 and N.J.A.C. 11:13-2.1(c), File and Use 30 days prior to use.

 
NJ Commercial Automobile Insurance Plan (CAIP)

Established January 1, 1984 under N.J.S.A. 17:29D-1 and implemented by N.J.A.C. 11:3-1.2, to provide coverage for a commercial automobile risk unable to obtain coverage in the voluntary market.

Rates, rules and forms are subject to prior approval by the Commissioner before being implemented.

CAIP may be contacted at:
New Jersey Commerical Automobile Insurance Plan
Mount Laurel Corporate Center
10000 Midlantic Drive
Suite 403 West
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054

Telephone: 1-800-652-2471 or 856-722-0030

 
Commercial Lines Other Than Commercial Automobile


Commercial lines submissions are processed in accordance with the Commercial Lines Deregulation Act, N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-1 et seq. and N.J.A.C. 11:13 et seq.

Rates/Rules are subject to N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-5 and N.J.A.C. 11:13-8.1, Use and File within 30 days. Forms are subject to N.J.S.A. 17:29AA-6, File and Use 30 days prior to becoming effective.

There exists certain commercial lines which are exempt from the Department of Banking and Insurance filing requirements. These items are contained on the Commissioner's Special Risks List and the Commissioner's Exportable List, N.J.A.C. 11:1-34.6. Each year end, a hearing is held to discuss the exportable list contents. Additions and/or deletions to the list occur as a result of these annual hearings.

 
Personal Automobile

All private passenger vehicles are mandated by law to maintain automobile liability insurance, N.J.S.A. 39:6A et seq. Personal auto coverage may be obtained on a voluntary basis or through the New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan.


Rates, Rules and Forms are subject to prior approval by the Commissioner and must be filed in accordance with N.J.S.A. 17:29A et seq. Other significant statutes and regulations are listed below:

Please Note for Appendix A and Exhibit B
All filings shall be accompanied by the following certification signed by an officer of the filer:
"I _______ certify that the attached filing complies with all statutory and regulatory requirements and that all the information it contains is true and accurate. I further certify that I am authorized to execute this certification on behalf of the filer."
  • Calculation of Maximum Expenses for Prior Approval/Limited Auto Rate Filings
  • Requirements for Filing a Downward Deviation in Currently Approved Rates - N.J.A.C. 11:1-16
  • Guaranty Fund Surcharge - N.J.A.C. 11:1-6.1 (See Selected Order No. A11-109
  • Mass Marketing of Property and Liability Insurance - N.J.A.C. 11:2-12.1
  • New Jersey Plain Language Law - N.J.A.C. 11:2-18.1
  • Renewal and Nonrenewal of Automobile Insurance Policies - N.J.A.C. 11:3-8
  • Cancellation of Automobile Policies - N.J.S.A. 17:29C-6
  • Implementation of ID Card Rule - N.J.A.C.  11:3-6 
  • Notice to Policyholders of Consumer Rate Increases (Per N.J.A.C. 11:1-45.1) - Notices must be sent to policyholders and the Division of Rate Counsel must be copied on all prior approval increases over 7% or when an insurer has filed for one or more prior approval rate filing(s) for implementation within a 12 month period and the impact of the filing(s) is a combined overall increase of more than seven percent. Please Note: The Division of Rate Counsel requires paper copies of these filings.

    Please note the new address for the Division of Rate Counsel is as follows:

    Mailing Address:
    The Division of Rate Counsel
    140 E. Front St., 4th Floor
    P.O. Box 003
    Trenton, NJ 08625
top of page
 
New Jersey Personal Auto Insurance Plan (PAIP)


Established October 1, 1992 pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:29D-1 and implemented by N.J.A.C. 11:3-2.1, PAIP is the residual market mechanism for writing personal auto risks not eligible in the voluntary market. In addition, this oversees the SAIP.

Rates, rules and forms must be approved by the commissioner before being implemented.

PAIP may be contacted at:
New Jersey Personal Automobile Insurance Plan
Mount Laurel Corporate Center
10000 Midlantic Drive
Suite 403 West

Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
Telephone: 1-800-652-2471 or 856-722-0030

 
Personal Lines Other Than Auto

All Personal Lines Other Than Auto rates, rules and policy forms are subject to New Jersey's Prior Approval Laws. Coverages included under personal lines other than auto are: homeowners, dwelling fire, inland marine, pet, excess/umbrella, credit, involuntary unemployment and title insurance.

Rates, rules and forms are subject to N.J.S.A. 17:29A et seq. Other significant statutes and regulations are listed below:

  • Fire Insurance: Policy forms to be filed - N.J.S.A. 17:36-1
  • Domestic Servants or Household Employees: Coverage required on comprehensive personal liability and homeowners policies - N.J.S.A. 17:36-5.29
  • Title Insurance Companies - N.J.S.A. 17:46B-1
  • Pet Insurance - N.J.S.A. 17:46D-1
  • FAIR Plan Surcharge - N.J.A.C. 11:1-5.1
  • Guaranty Fund Surcharge - N.J.A.C. 11:1-6.1 (See Selected Order No. A11-109
  • Mass Marketing of Property and Liability Insurance - N.J.A.C. 11:2-12.1
  • New Jersey Plain Language Law - N.J.A.C. 11:2-18.1
  • Cancellation and Nonrenewal of Commercial and Homeowners Insurance Policies - N.J.A.C. 11:1-20.1
  • Homeowners Insurance Standard Hurricane Deductibles - N.J.A.C. 11:2-42.7 et seq.
  • Expedited Process for Homeowners Insurance Rate Changes - N.J.A.C. 11:2-42.1
  • Notice to Policyholders of Consumer Rate Increases (Per N.J.A.C. 11:1-45.1) - Notices must be sent to policyholders and the Division of Rate Counsel must be copied on all prior approval increases over 7% or when an insurer has filed for one or more prior approval rate filing(s) for implementation within a 12 month period and the impact of the filing(s) is a combined overall increase of more than seven percent. Please Note: The Division of Rate Counsel requires paper copies of these filings.

    Please note the new address for the Division of Rate Counsel is as follows:

    Mailing Address:
    The Division of Rate Counsel
    140 E. Front St., 4th Floor
    P.O. Box 003
    Trenton, NJ 08625
 
New Jersey Insurance Underwriting Association (FAIR Plan)


The New Jersey Insurance Underwriting Association was organized in 1968, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:37A 1-22. Today NJIUA is the Administrator of the Property FAIR Plan, the Crime Indemnity Plan, and the Windstorm Market Assistance Program.

They were created by the insurance industry as a means to make property insurance more readily available to people who have difficulty obtaining coverage from voluntary market insurers because their property is considered "high risk."

Rates, rules and forms are subject to prior approval by the Commissioner before being implemented.

The FAIR Plan may be contacted at:
New Jersey Insurance Underwriting Association

744 Broad Street
PO Box 32609
Newark , NJ 07102

Telephone: (973) 622-3838
Fax: (973) 622-6357
Claims Fax: (973) 297-5033
Underwriting Fax: (973) 297-5032

Web site: www.njiua.org

 
Oil Tanks
top of page
 
Statistical


Property and Casualty insurers are required by law to prepare and submit extensive statistical reports to assist the Department with its regulatory obligations.

N.J.S.A. 17:29A-5 (for personal lines) and N.J.S.A. 17:29 AA-16 (for commercial lines) requires companies to report their statistics to approved statistical agents using approved statistical plans. The statistical agents compile and report the combined data to the Department by line of insurance at least annually.

N.J.A.C 11:3-20 requires private passenger auto writers to file an Excess Profit Report on July 1.

N.J.A.C. 11:3-3A requires private passenger auto writers to report semi-annually the in-force data for the voluntary and residual (PAIP) markets.

N.J.A.C. 11:3-45 requires private passenger auto writers to annually file premium survey examples in the format specified by a bulletin issued annually.

N.J.A.C. 11:2-42.10 requires homeowner writers to report semi-annually producer and exposure data. (Homeowners Market Survey)


N.J.A.C. 11:27-13 requires medical malpractice insurers who write physicians and surgeons to submit information on premium modifiers.

N.J.S.A. 17:30D and N.J.A.C. 11:1-7 require medical malpractice insurers who write physicians and surgeons to submit information on individual closed claims.

Licensed companies must first file on a prior approval basis for both commercial, personal and title, a complete rating system of rates, rules and forms before providing coverage in New Jersey. Companies may submit the rating systems directly to the Department or have them filed on their behalf by a rating/advisory organization. N.J.S.A. 17:29A-3 details the method for becoming a member of a rating organization. Companies must receive notification from the Department of Banking and Insurance that they are authorized to use the filed rating system before writing insurance.

 
Open Public Records Act (OPRA)

Requests for public property/casualty records must be made in accordance to the Open Public Records Act (OPRA).
 
Forms
top of page
 
OPRA
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
line
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2011, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance