NJ Home   Services A to Z   Departments/Agencies FAQs
Great Seal of the State of New Jersey
NJDOT Site Index  |  Search: NJ Home   NJDOT
Great Seal of the State of New Jersey

pedestrian safety graphic


Drivers and pedestrians are responsible for each other’s safety. With the passage of Assembly Bill 1329, drivers now risk $200 fines, 15-day community-service sentences and four points if they fail to bring their vehicles to complete stops at crosswalks to allow pedestrians to pass in front of them.

new law graphic

Drivers must:

  • Stop and remain stopped while a pedestrian is in a marked crosswalk. (39:4-36)
  • Stop and remain stopped for pedestrians crossing within the adjacent crosswalk into which the motorist is turning right from either a red signal, stop or yield sign. (39:4-36)
  • Stop and remain stopped if a pedestrian is within one lane of their half of roadway. (39:4-36)
  • Not overtake and pass a vehicle that is stopped to permit a pedestrian to cross the roadway. (39:4-36)

  • Yield to pedestrians at unmarked crosswalks at an uncontrolled intersection. (39:4-36)

  • Exercise due care for the safety of any pedestrian upon a roadway. (39:4-36)

The new law provides that when a collision occurs between a vehicle and a pedestrian within a marked crosswalk, or at an unmarked crosswalk at an intersection, there shall be permissive inference that a driver did not exercise due care for the safety of the pedestrian.

The new law also specifies that a pedestrian crossing on a "Go" or green signal has the right of way over all vehicles, including those making turns.

stop and stay stopped graphic

Pedestrians must:

  • Not leave a "curb or other place of safety" by walking or running into the path of a vehicle which is so close that it is impossible for the driver to yield or stop. (39:4-36)

  • Yield to drivers when crossing a road at any point other than within a marked or unmarked crosswalk at an intersection.

  • Yield to drivers at intersections where the pedestrian does not have a green “walk” signal and where drivers have a green signal. (39:4-32)
  • Walk on sidewalks where they are provided and accessible. (39:4-34)
  • Walk along the extreme left side of a highway or its shoulder when possible facing approaching traffic if there is no sidewalk.

  • Exercise due care for his/her safety. (39:4-36)

  • Not cross any highways having roadways separated by a median barrier except where provision is made for pedestrians to cross. (39:4-34)

Pedestrians risk $54 fines and community service is they fail to yield the right of way to motorists anywhere except at crosswalks.

Go to NJDOT home page Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement  Go to State of New Jersey home page
  department: home | about | NJ commuter | in the works | business | engineering | freight, air & water | capital | community | data | links | index
  statewide: NJ Home | about NJ | business | government | state services A to Z | departments

  Copyright © State of New Jersey, 2002-2020
  Department of Transportation
  P.O. Box 600
  Trenton, NJ 08625-0600
OPRA - open public records act

  Last Updated:  August 2, 2010