Yes. Adults 21 years and older can buy recreational cannabis at a licensed dispensary. Adults and minors with a qualifying medical condition may participate in the Medicinal Cannabis Program.
Patients and adult-use consumers may purchase cannabis and cannabis products at one of New Jersey's licensed dispensaries. Note some locations dispense medicinal cannabis and medicinal cannabis products only. Purchasing cannabis from anywhere other than these locations is illegal and the safety of the purchased product cannot be guaranteed.
In each transaction, dispensaries are allowed to sell up to the equivalent of 28.35 (1 ounce) of cannabis. That means up to:
- 28.35 grams (1 ounce) of dried flower, or
- 4 grams of solid cannabis concentrates or resin, or the equivalent of 4 grams of concentrate in liquid form (solution in milliliters), or
- 4 grams of vaporized formulations (oils), or
- 1000 mg of multiple ingestible cannabis-infused products (10 100 mg packages) like gummies
A purchase of a combination of products may be 14.17 grams (1/2 ounce) of dried flower plus 2 grams of concentrate, or 5 packages of gummies and 1/2 ounce of dried flower.
Legally allowable product categories include dried flower, concentrated oils, resin, vape formulas, tinctures, topicals, syringes, lozenges, and soft chews, but availability will vary by dispensary. Perishable edibles like cookies and brownies are not available for purchase from any dispensary.
Equivalency is based on total weight of the product sold. For products containing both THC and CBD, equivalency is based on the total weight of the concentrate. For example, a product containing 400 mg of CBD and 100 mg of THC has a total weight of 500 mg or 0.5 grams.
Retail sales of cannabis and cannabis products are subject to New Jersey sales tax of 6.625%.
No. Current New Jersey law does not give authority to NJ-CRC to authorize private, residential, or any growing of cannabis outside of a business with a cultivation license.
Generally, an adult 21 years of age or older can use cannabis on private property. However, property owners can limit the use of cannabis on their property. Visit our Recreational Use and Medicinal Cannabis pages for more information about buying and using recreational cannabis in New Jersey.
Both terms refer to the plant of genus Cannabis L. The terms “cannabis” and “marijuana” have traditionally been used interchangeably. However, pursuant to the November 2020 election, Article IV, section VII, paragraph 12 of the New Jersey State Constitution creates a legal distinction between “cannabis” and “marijuana.” In short, “cannabis” refers to the regulated form of the plant (what will be grown, bought, and sold in licensed stores), whereas “marijuana” refers to the unregulated form of the plant (what is grown, bought, and sold in the illicit market).
Hemp and cannabis both derive from the Cannabis plant. The difference is determined in the amount of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) found in the particular item. THC is the psychoactive compound of the plant that contributes to feeling “high.” Items with a THC concentration of not more than 0.3 percent are considered hemp, and items with a THC concentration < 0.3% have more psychoactive compounds and may be referred to as cannabis, marijuana, or another related name.
Hemp production was legalized in the federal 2018 Farm Bill. The New Jersey Department of Agriculture is responsible for regulating hemp production in New Jersey. Visit the Department of Agriculture’s website for more information.
Cannabidiol (CBD) is a compound found in the cannabis plant. It is typically found in hemp flower or derived from hemp plants as an oil and used for medicinal or therapeutic purposes. It is different from THC in that CBD does not contribute to feeling “high.”
As a derivative of hemp under the federal 2018 Farm Bill, CBD products fall under the regulatory authority of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) and are subject to the Federal Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act. Whether individuals can legally sell CBD products depends on the intended use of the product and how it’s labeled, among other things. Visit the FDA’s website for more information.
No. Under current law, medicinal or recreational cannabis cannot be planted, propagated, cultivated, grown, harvested, processed, or sold on property preserved under New Jersey’s Farmland Preservation Program. The Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act prohibits medicinal cannabis and recreational cannabis cultivators from operating or locating an operation on land that is farmland assessed. Because eligibility for farmland assessment is a requirement for farms to enter the state’s preservation program, once a farm is preserved a landowner cannot engage in uses which would disqualify the property for farmland assessment.
Under the CREAMM Act, the Social Equity Excise Fee (SEEF) is collected by cannabis cultivators when they sell or transfer products to any other license class.The SEEF rate may be adjusted annually by the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission and is currently set at 1/3 of 1% of the statewide average retail price of cannabis. The 2022 SEEF rate of $1.10 per ounce is based on the statewide average price of a usable ounce of medicinal cannabis on April 21, 2022 which was $329.17. The 2023 SEEF rate will be $1.52 per ounce, based on the statewide average retail price of an ounce of usable recreational cannabis between April 2022 and August 2022. Going forward the SEEF rate will be based on recreational cannabis pricing.