Governor Phil Murphy • Lt. Governor Tahesha Way
NJ Home | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey-Department of Environmental Protection-Radiation Protection Element
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 


Scope of Practice:

A licensed diagnostic radiologic technologist is permitted to perform all types of diagnostic x-ray procedures. This includes radiographic, bone densitometry and computerized axial tomography procedures. A licensed diagnostic radiologic technologist is also permitted to operate fluoroscopic equipment provided that a licensed physician is in the room and directing the procedure. The following tasks have been identified within the scope of practice of a licensed diagnostic radiologic technologist: positioning of the patient for a diagnostic radiographic procedure, measuring the patient, aligning the x-ray tube to the image receptor, setting tube distance and exposure factors, exercising proper principles of radiation protection and making the exposure.

Educational Requirement:

Completion of a 24 month course of study in a diagnostic radiography program approved by the Radiologic Technology Board of Examiners (Board) or its equivalent as determined by the Board. For a list of Board approved schools click here. The Board has determined that a graduate of a Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology (JRCERT) accredited program is an equivalent program. For a list of JRCERT accredited programs, go to If you did not complete a Board or JRCERT approved program, you must submit information contained in the examination/license appendix.

Examination Application and Information:

To be eligible for an examination, you must successfully complete a Board approved educational program or it's equivalent and document competent clinical experience within the last five years. Click here for the examination application. (The Board requires a minimum passing score of 75% on the ARRT exam.)

If you were ARRT certified but dropped for not maintaining requirements, under the ARRT’s revised reinstatement policy, you may be eligible to take the ARRT examination and if passed could be eligible for a New Jersey license provided that you meet the license requirements below. Additionally, if you are not eligible to take the ARRT examination, you may be eligible for the New Jersey examination provided that you meet the examination requirements above.

License Application and Requirements:

To become licensed in diagnostic radiologic technology, the applicant must meet the following requirements:

  1. Be at least 18 years of age at the time of the application;
  2. Complete at least a high school level education in the United States or its equivalent;
  3. Complete the above educational requirement;
  4. Be of good moral character as determined by the Board;
  5. Pass a Board approved examination or an equivalent examination within the last five years* or hold a current ARRT certification; and
  6. Submit to the Department a complete application.

* If you passed another state's examination, you must submit proof of a current state diagnostic radiography license and information from that state agency regarding its licensing examination.

AQES: Home
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-2024

Last Updated: May 23, 2024