Home and Community Based Services

Home and community based services (HCBS) make it possible for eligible individuals to receive services in their own homes and communities rather than in institutions.  The Division administers two Medicaid HCBS waiver programs through which eligible individuals can receive needed services.

The Community Care Program (CCP) was originally approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in 1985 to provide a community-based alternative to institutional care.  Over 11,000 individuals now use the CCP to live in licensed group homes or receive comprehensive in-home supports.  In 2016, the Supports Program (SP) launched in order to expand access to critical in-home and family supports to about another 11,000 individuals. 

Waiver HCBS are intended to supplement rather than replace services received from other state and federal programs, such as NJ FamilyCare or the Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services, or from natural supports, including families, neighbors or community organizations. 

Depending on an individual's assessed level of support need, the following services are available:

Assistive Technology Natural Supports Training
Behavioral Supports Occupational Therapy
Career Planning Personal Emergency Response System
Cognitive Rehabilitation (SP only) Physical Therapy
Community Based Supports (SP only) Prevocational Training
Community Inclusion Services Respite
Community Transition Services (CCP only) Speech, Language and Hearing Therapy
Day Habilitation Supports Brokerage
Environmental Modifications Supported Employment
Goods & Services Transportation
Individual Supports (CCP only) Vehicle Modifications
Interpreter Services  

The policy manuals are the definitive sources for information about DDD's HCBS waiver programs:

To assist individuals and families in better understanding some of the key elements of the policy manuals, a quick guide for families is available in English and Spanish: