Obtain a Permit
The following permits are issued through the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development, Division of Wage and Hour Compliance.
Complete the following application to request to maintain time and payroll records in a location outside of the State of New Jersey.
Request for Permission to Maintain Payroll Records Outside of New Jersey
Complete the following application to request permission to pay a special minimum wage rate for "special disabled workers.” This permit is granted at the request of the employer, with the approval of the employee, and must be renewed annually.
- Application for Industrial Home Worker’s Certificate: this application must be completed for each industrial home worker the employer wishes to employ and must be submitted along with the Application for Industrial Homework Employer’s Permit (below). This form is not appropriate for employers in the apparel and embroidery industries. Apparel is a prohibited article under the Industrial Homework Law, N.J.S.A. 34:6-136.1 et seq.
- Application for Industrial Homework Employer's Permit: this permit allows employers to use industrial home workers to manufacture articles in the home for the employer. The number of industrial home workers that an employer can employ is equal to 1/3 of the total number of employees employed at the employer's factory or business in the state. The application fee is $150 for the use of 25 or fewer industrial home workers and $300 for the use of 26 or more industrial home workers. An Application for Industrial Home Worker's Certificate (above) for each home worker must accompany this application.
An inspection of the employer's firm and each industrial home worker's home must be completed before the Employer's Permit and Industrial Home Worker's Certificate are issued. These permits and certificates must be renewed each year.
Application for Home Work License: this permit allows self-employed individuals to manufacture items in their home. The type of work performed in the home must be described and the room where the manufacturing of the article will be performed must be indicated. This license is free of charge but must be renewed each year.
Application for a Sheltered Workshop Certificate: this permit allows non-profit organizations to employ individuals with disabilities for less than minimum wage for such period of time fixed and stated in the authorization.