to top
  • COVID-19 Information
COVID-19 is still active. Wear a mask. Social distance. Stay up to date on vaccine information. Visit:
COVID19 Alert NJDownload free COVID Alert app.
Tropical Storm Ida Recovery

Division of Taxation

New Jersey Extends Tax Filing Deadline for Hurricane Harvey Victims

Trenton – New Jersey has granted an extension of filing and payment deadlines for business and individual taxpayers affected by Hurricane Harvey.

The new filing deadline is January 31, 2018, for businesses and individuals located in the disaster areas,* those whose records are stored in the disaster areas,* and relief workers.

The deadline extension applies to Sales Tax, Corporation Business Tax, Gross Income Tax and other taxes that have deadlines for filing that fall between August 23, 2017 and January 31, 2018. This includes any quarterly estimated payments due between the August 23, 2017, and Jan. 16, 2018. For individual tax filers, it also includes 2016 income tax returns that received a tax-filing extension until Oct. 16, 2017. However, because tax payments related to these 2016 returns were originally due on April 18, 2017, these payments will be considered late and are subject to penalties and interest.

New Jersey is following federal Internal Revenue Service guidelines on deadline extensions. If the IRS changes its deadline, New Jersey expects to revise its requirements as well.

Please continue to monitor this website for additional information about how to identify your returns and payments when filing and paying under this extension.

For more information about federal IRS requirements, please see the following links:

Help for Victims of Hurricane Harvey

IRS Gives Tax Relief to Victims of Hurricane Harvey; Parts of Texas Now Eligible; Extension Filers Have Until Jan. 31 to File

Retirement Plans Can Make Loans, Hardship Distributions to Victims of Hurricane Harvey

Tax professionals can use the following IRS link:

Disaster Relief Resource Center for Tax Professionals

*As of the posting date of this notice, the following Texas counties are eligible for relief: Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, San Patricio, Sabine, San Jacinto, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, and Wharton.

Last Updated: Wednesday, 03/10/21