Division of Temporary Disability and Family Leave InsuranceURL reading ( My Leave Benefits . NJ . Gov )

Glossary of Terms

A woman and her mother, standing together, smiling

We may use words and phrases in our applications, forms, and notices that you may not be familiar with, or that have a different definition in the context of our programs. Here's what they mean.


A request to have your application reviewed again in hopes of obtaining a more favorable decision

A written request (submitted by mail, fax, or online) to be considered for benefits

When an application meets all the requirements, and is determined to be eligible for benefits

Average weekly wage
A calculation of a worker’s earnings, which we use to determine the worker’s weekly benefit amount 

Glossary Index


Base week
For claims in 2023, any calendar week (Sunday through Saturday) in which the employee earned at least $260 
For claims in 2024, any calendar week (Sunday through Saturday) in which the employee earned at least $283 

Base year
The timeframe used to meet the minimum gross earnings requirement and to calculate the average weekly wage. The standard base year refers to the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters before the worker files a claim.

For example:

If your claim is dated in:
Your claim is based on
earnings from:
January 2024
February 2024
March 2024
October 1, 2022 to September 30, 2023
April 2024
May 2024
June 2024
January 1, 2023 to December 31, 2023
July 2024
August 2024
September 2024
April 1, 2023 to March 31, 2024
October 2024
November 2024
December 2024
July 1, 2023 to June 30, 2024


The wages earned during your base year will determine the amount of weekly benefits you may receive, and the total amount you can potentially receive throughout your claim. For workers who don't qualify with a standard base year, we have other ways of calculating a base year

Money paid by a government agency (or private insurance company) to replace lost wages when you are unable to work

When a parent spends time with a newborn or newly adopted, or newly placed foster child to form or strengthen the relationship

Glossary Index


To confirm in a signed and dated written or online statement

Chargeable employer
The employer for whom the claimant last worked, or was last paid by, immediately prior to the onset of the disability

Application for a government- or company-sponsored benefit

Person applying for a government- or company-sponsored benefit

Contested claim
When an applicant disagrees with the Workers' Compensation insurance carrier's decision, and has filed a claim petition with the Division of Workers' Compensation to appeal a denial or stoppage of benefits

Continued Pay
Any paid time off (such as vacation or sick pay) granted by an employer to an employee when the employee is unable to work

Covered employment
When an employee works in New Jersey for an employer who is subject to the New Jersey Temporary Disability Benefits Law

Glossary Index


Debit card
A payment card linked to funds in a worker's benefits account that can be used to make purchases or withdraw cash using a personal identification number (PIN)

When a claim does not meet the requirements to be issued benefits and is determined to be ineligible

The inability to work due to a physical or mental medical condition that has been certified by an approved medical provider

Donated Leave
When a state employee gives his or her own paid leave days to another employee who has a personal or family medical emergency but no paid leave days left to take

Glossary Index


A claim that has been approved to pay benefits

An employee who processes applications for Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance

Glossary Index


Family member
children of any age
domestic partners
chosen family
any other individual related by blood or that you consider to be family

Glossary Index


Gross Misconduct
Behavior in the workplace that would be punishable as a crime in the first, second, third, or fourth degree

Glossary Index


High Misdemeanor
Crimes in the first, second, or third degree

Glossary Index


Income security programs
Short-term wage-replacement programs for workers who are: unable to find work (Unemployment Insurance); unable to work due to a non-work related personal injury or illness (Temporary Disability Insurance); or unable to work due to caring for a family member, or bonding with a newborn or newly placed adopted child (Family Leave Insurance)

An application for benefits that has been denied

An application for benefits that does not meet the minimum gross wage requirement to be approved

Glossary Index


Maximum benefit amount
The most money you can possibly receive for a particular claim

Medical provider (approved)
A legally licensed chiropractor, dentist, osteopath, podiatrist, medical doctor, optometrist, psychologist, advanced practice nurse, advanced practice registered nurse, certified nurse practitioner, clinical nurse specialist, or certified nurse midwife (physician assistants and midwives are also acceptable when under the supervision of a licensed physician)

Glossary Index


Non compos mentis
Not of sound mind; unable to make decisions for oneself

Glossary Index


Payment in excess of what is owed

Glossary Index


Private plan
An independent insurance plan that an employer may use to replace the state-provided insurance plan

Glossary Index


Qualifying child
Your biological or adopted child, foster child, stepchild, legal ward, or the child of your domestic or civil union partner

Glossary Index


When you are medically able to return to work

Repayment of funds back to the Division of Temporary Disability & Family Leave Insurance

When a disability recurs within 14 days of your recovery

Glossary Index


Severance pay
A voluntary amount paid by an employer to an employee upon dismissal or discharge from employment for past years of service as required by contract, obligation, or custom. This money cannot be used to establish a benefit amount

State plan
The Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance programs run by the state of New Jersey's Department of Labor & Workforce Development

Subrogation agreement
A contract that states you will reimburse the Division of Temporary Disability Insurance for any benefits paid when you receive Workers' Compensation benefits for the same injury

Glossary Index


Payment less than what is owed

Glossary Index


Wage cap
The earnings threshold by which workers contribute to Temporary Disability and Family Leave Insurance. Until their gross earnings reach the threshold amount, they continue to contribute throughout the calendar year. The threshold amount is determined by New Jersey workers' average weekly wage statewide 

Earnings paid to an employee by an employer

Waiting week
A seven-day waiting period before Temporary Disability benefits are paid. If your disability continues to be payable for three more consecutive calendar weeks, you will retroactively receive benefits for that first week. Family Leave Insurance is not subject to a waiting week

Weekly benefit rate
The amount of money you are entitled to each week. For claims in 2023, it is 85% of the average weekly wage, up to a maximum of $1,025. For claims in 2024, it is 85% of the average weekly wage, up to a maximum of $1,055

Glossary Index