The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page

Prepayment of Partnership Filing Fee
Not Required With
"Final Return" (Form NJ-1065)

Effective for tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2002, each entity classified as a partnership for Federal income tax purposes that has any income or losses derived from New Jersey sources and that has more than two owners is required to pay a $150 filing fee for each owner of an interest in the entity, up to a maximum of $250,000. Each partnership required to pay a filing fee must also make an installment payment (prepayment) of its filing fee for the succeeding return period. The prepayment is 50% of the filing fee amount required to be paid with the return being filed. Both the filing fee for the tax year and the installment payment are due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following the close of the return period.

EXCEPTION: A partnership that indicates it is filing a "Final Return" (Form NJ-1065) is not required to make the 50% installment payment (prepayment) of the partnership filing fee for the next year. In this case the partnership is required to pay only the filing fee for the year of the final return. For example: When a partnership that is required to pay the filing fee for its five partners indicates it is submitting a "Final Return" (Form NJ-1065) for 2002, it must pay a $750 partnership filing fee for 2002, but it does not have to make the $375 installment payment for 2003 that would otherwise be required.

Last Updated: Wednesday, 08/20/14

Taxation: Home | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification